Don't have an account? Click Here
All-NorPac Awards
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 11/06/2013

LYNCHBURG, Va. – On the eve of the 16th annual NorPac Tournament, Stanford was well-represented at the awards banquet with five members earning all-conference honors.

Among the highlights: Kelsey Harbin being named Player of the Year, Hope Burke earning the Sheryl Johnson Academic Excellence Award and Tara Danielson claiming her third consecutive Coach of the Year honor.

Harbin’s selection as the West Division Player of the Year represents the sixth consecutive season a Cardinal player has received the award (Camille Gandhi in 2008, Xanthe Travlos in 2009 and 2010, Becky Dru in 2011 and 2012).

It is the second league honor of Harbin’s career after earning the Defensive Player of the Year award last season. Harbin anchored the Stanford defense that allowed just 16 goals in 18 games, blanking 9 of 18 opponents. She was second on the team with 18 points on six goals and six assists.

Harbin also earned a spot on the all-conference list, joining teammates Maddie Secco, Alex McCawley and Burke.

Danielson was named Coach of the Year for the third straight season after leading Stanford to its fifth consecutive NorPac regular season title and a No. 6 national ranking – matching a program-best.

The Cardinal is 62-21 overall under Danielson and 22-2 in conference play over the past four seasons.

Burke was recognized on the nine-member All-Academic team for the second straight year and earned the Sheryl Johnson Academic Excellence Award.

Stanford aims for its sixth tournament championship in the past seven seasons when the NorPac Tournament begins Thursday in Lynchburg, Va., on the campus of Liberty University. The Cardinal plays Davidson at 1 p.m. PT in its first-round match.

Six of the last seven NorPac Championship title games have resulted in a Stanford-Cal match, with the Cardinal taking four of those contests. Stanford saw Liberty in the title round last year, winning 3-0.

- - - - - - - - - -

East All-Conference
Stacey de Grandhomme, Sr., MF (Longwood)
Natalie Barr, So., MF (Liberty)
Melissa Funsten, So. MF (Davidson)
Alayna Versage, Sr. D (Radford)
Serena Barr, Fr., D (Liberty)
Jennifer Burris, So., F (Longwood)
Tyler McFayden, Sr., F (Davidson)
Ashley Krulock, So, F (Liberty)
Caitlin Smith, Sr., D (Longwood)
Jordyn Warren, So., F (Appalachian State)
Hannah Jones, So., D (Liberty)
Marianna Parker, So., F (Radford)
Kaye Goulding, R-Sr., GK (Longwood)

West All-Conference
Jordan O'Reilly, Sr., F (California)
Maddie Secco, So., MF (Stanford)
Kelsey Harbin, Jr., D (Stanford)
Lara Kruggel, Jr., MF (California)
Allie Swartz, Sr., D (California)
Emily Tregoning, Sr., MF (Pacific)
Alex McCawley, Jr., MF (Stanford)
Shannon Elmitt, Sr., MF (California)
Cloey LemMon, Sr., F (UC Davis)
Clara Goni, So., MF (California)
Hope Burke, Sr., F (Stanford)
Courtney Hendrickson, Jr., GK (California)

East Player of the Year
Stacey de Grandhomme, Sr., MF (Longwood)

West Player of the Year
Kelsey Harbin, Jr., D (Stanford)

East Offensive Player of the Year
Natalie Barr, So., MF (Liberty)

West Offensive Player of the Year
Lara Kruggel, Jr., MF, (California)

East Defensive Player of the Year
Kaye Goulding, R-Sr., GK (Longwood)

West Defensive Player of the Year
Courtney Hendrickson, (California)

Maria Whitehead Rookie of the Year
Serena Barr, D (Liberty)

All-Academic Team
Hannah Bettencourt, So. (Pacific)
Hope Burke, Sr. (Stanford)
Emily Costa, Jr. (UC Davis)
Helen Doolittle, Jr. (Liberty)
Courtney Hendrickson, Jr. (California)
Emily Knapp, Sr. (Appalachian State)
Tyler McFayden, Sr. (Davidson)
Caitlin Smith, Sr. (Longwood)
Alayna Versage, Jr. (Radford)

Sheryl Johnson Academic Excellence Award
Hope Burke, Sr. (Stanford)

Co-Julie Nagel Extraordinary Teammate
Connie Cape (Davidson)
Mia Kane (Davidson)

Co-Coach of the Year
Tara Danielson (Stanford)
Jodie Murphy (Liberty)



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts