Don't have an account? Click Here
Yasmin Farooq
Hall of Fame For Farooq, Logan
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 04/11/2014

NORTH STONINGTON, Conn. - The National Rowing Foundation announced Stanford women’s rowing head coach Yasmin Farooq and former Stanford women’s rower Eleanor Logan 11 as part of the 2014 Hall of Fame Class on Friday.

Farooq and Logan will be among 17 athletes and coaches from the United States that comprise this year’s class.

The Cardinal’s current head coach is set to lead her team this weekend at the Lake Natoma Invitational in Gold River, Calif., but it is her prowess as a coxswain that has placed her in this year’s hall of fame class. She is one of six athletes going in for individual achievements.

An eight-time national team member and two-time Olympian, Farooq was the coxswain for the women’s eight for eight consecutive years. During that time she led the eight to a World Championship in 1995 and silver medals at the World Rowing Championships in 1990, 1993 and 1994.

Logan, who Farooq coached at Stanford, enters the National Rowing Hall of Fame as a member of the U.S. women’s eight that captured a gold medal in the 2008 Beijing Olympics. Other members of that boat include Erin Cafaro, Lindsay Shoop, Anna Goodale, Anna Mickelson Cummins, Susan Francia, Caroline Lind, Caryn Davies, Mary Whipple Murray and coach Tom Terhaar.

The induction ceremony will take place May 31, 2014 at the Princeton Marriott at Forrestal in Princeton, N.J.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts