Don't have an account? Click Here
2014 Stanford women's lacrosse. Photo by Norbert von der Groeben/
Coaches Tab Cardinal
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 01/31/2014

STANFORD, Calif. – Stanford is the choice to win the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation women’s lacrosse title, as determined by a vote of conference coaches.

The Cardinal is the preseason favorite for the fifth consecutive year and seeks to win its ninth MPSF title in 10 years. Stanford received seven of 10 possible first-place votes, with 2013 regular-season champion Denver receiving two and USC, in only its second season, receiving one.

Stanford returns 11 of its 12 starters and 96 percent of its goals (260 of 272) from a 14-6 team that reached the second round of the NCAA tournament. Stanford’s Rachel Ozer and Anna Kim are returning IWLCA All-Region players and were among six Cardinal named to the All-MPSF team.

Stanford opens its season on Feb. 15 against visiting Ohio State at 1 p.m. at Laird Q. Cagan Stadium. The Cardinal begins MPSF play on March 5 at Fresno State and plays its conference home opener March 22 against Saint Mary’s. The annual showdown with Denver is April 4 at Stanford.

The conference expands with the addition of first-year program Colorado. Also, Denver will play host to the MPSF tournament on May 1-4.

Fans can get a preview of Stanford and four of its MPSF opponents at the Stanford Play Day on Sunday, beginning at 9 a.m.

The following is the predicted order of finish in the MPSF this season, as selected by the conference coaches (first-place votes in parentheses):

1. Stanford (7)
2. Denver (2)
3. USC (1) 
4. Oregon
5. California
6. San Diego State
7. UC Davis
8. Colorado
9. Saint Mary's
10. Fresno State



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts