MEMBER SIGN IN
Don't have an account? Click Here
Adrienne Anderson. Photo by Hector Garcia-Molina.
TV Highlights Lacrosse Slate
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 01/16/2014
STANFORD, Calif. – The Stanford lacrosse team will be televised four times this season on the Pac-12 Networks, it was revealed as the team’s schedule was released Thursday.

In addition, Stanford will play five 2013 NCAA tournament teams during its 16-game regular season, including a home Mountain Pacific Sports Federation showdown against Denver on April 7.

The Pac-12 Networks will air six games altogether, with Stanford receiving the most exposure. The Cardinal’s four television games are MPSF contests April 6 against visiting Colorado (1 p.m.), April 11 at Oregon (5 p.m.), April 20 at USC (1 p.m.), and April 24 against visiting Cal (4 p.m.) in the regular-season finale.

Stanford has an eight-game home schedule, with three in nonconference play to open the season, beginning with Ohio State (Feb. 15, 1 p.m.) and followed by Harvard (Feb. 22) and Vanderbilt (March 2).

Stanford begins MPSF action March 5 at Fresno State and plays its conference home opener March 22 against Saint Mary’s.

The Cardinal (14-6 last year) is coming off its eighth MPSF title in nine years, and won its first NCAA tournament game to advance to the second round. Stanford’s Rachel Ozer and Anna Kim are returning IWLCA All-Region players and were among six Cardinal named to the All-MPSF team. In all, Stanford returns 11 of its 12 starters.

Stanford will again meet the opponents from its two most critical victories of 2013 – Denver and Notre Dame.

Stanford beat top-seeded Denver, 7-6, in the MPSF tournament final. Besides playing the Pioneers in a regular-season matchup at Stanford this year, the MPSF tournament will be held at Denver (May 1-3). Denver went on to reach the second round of the NCAA tournament last year and again promises to be among the Cardinal’s toughest MPSF opponents.

The other exciting rematch comes against Notre Dame. Hannah Farr scored on a free-position shot with four seconds left to lift Stanford to an 8-7 victory over the Irish in a chilly NCAA tournament first-round game in Evanston, Ill.

This year, the teams meet at Notre Dame on March 29 after Stanford plays at Cornell on March 25. It is the second of two long road trips for Stanford. The first takes the Cardinal to 2013 NCAA teams Towson (March 7) and Georgetown (March 9).

Stanford hopes to return to Towson for the NCAA final four (May 23-25).

Stanford schedule:

Home – Feb. 15 (1 p.m.), Ohio State; Feb. 22 (noon), Harvard; March 2 (noon), Vanderbilt; March 22 (noon), Saint Mary’s*; April 4 (7 p.m.), Denver*; April 6 (1 p.m. (Colorado); April 15 (7 p.m.), UC Davis*; April 24 (4 p.m.), California*.

Away – March 5 (5 p.m.), Fresno State*; March 7 (4 p.m. PT, 7 p.m. ET), Towson; March 9 (10 a.m. PT, 1 p.m. ET); March 25 (1 p.m. PT, 4 p.m. ET), Cornell; March 29 (9 a.m. PT, noon ET), Notre Dame; April 11 (5 p.m. PT), Oregon; April 18 (2 p.m.), San Diego State; April 20 (1 p.m.), USC.

Postseason – May 1-3, MPSF tournament at Denver; May 9-11, NCAA tournament first and second rounds; May 17, NCAA quarterfinals; May 23-25, NCAA final four at Towson.

*MPSF game; All home games at Laird Q. Cagan Stadium.


#gostanford



advertisement

Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
FRESH FROM THE FARM
#gostanfod
#GoStanford Student-Athlete of the Week