Don't have an account? Click Here
Jack Nicklaus Award Finalists
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 05/23/2014

STANFORD, Calif. – Five finalists have been named for the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, including Stanford’s Patrick Rodgers and Cameron Wilson. Georgia Tech’s Ollie Schniederjans and Alabama’s Robby Shelton and Bobby Wyatt are also finalists for the honor.

Rodgers has six collegiate victories this season to tie Tiger Woods’ all-time Stanford record for career wins (11). In his last six events, Rodgers has five wins and a runner-up finish.

His season victories have come at the Erin Hills Invitational, The Goodwin, Southern Highlands Collegiate Masters, The Prestige, Pac-12 Championships and NCAA Eugene Regional. The Pac-12 Player of the Year, Rodgers boasts nine top-10 finishes and a stroke average of 69.41. He also won the Ben Hogan Award.

Wilson corralled his first two collegiate wins this season, opening the campaign with a victory at the Olympia Fields Fighting Illini Invitational and then taking medalist honors at the Western Intercollegiate this spring.

For the year, he placed among the top 15 in all 11 events, with seven of those finishes in the top five. The first-team All-Pac-12 selection helped lead Stanford to its first conference title in two decades. He was a finalist for the Byron Nelson and Ben Hogan Awards.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts