Don't have an account? Click Here
Eyes Set on Pac-12 Title
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 04/24/2014

Pac-12 Conference Championships
Friday-Sunday, April 25-27
Gallery Golf Club • Marana, Ariz.

On the Web •
Live Results •
Television • Pac-12 Network (tape-delayed at 11 a.m. PT on May 11)
Cardinal Contingent • Patrick Rodgers, Cameron Wilson, David Boote, Viraat Badhwar,
Maverick McNealy, Jim Liu
Social Hour • • #GoStanford •

The Lowdown
• Winners of two straight events and three of its last four, the third-ranked Stanford men’s golf team eyes its first Pac-12 Conference Championships title in 20 years when it travels to The Gallery (April 25-27) in Marana, Ariz. With five teams ranked among the top 20 in the nation, the competition should provide for an exciting weekend.

• Stanford is paced by the nation’s top-ranked golfer (Golfstat individual ranking) in junior Patrick Rodgers (69.58 stroke average, four medalist honors) and senior Cameron Wilson (69.93 stroke average, five top-5 finishes). Rodgers has won nine times in his career, including three straight tournament victories this spring. He trails the school record of 11 victories by Tiger Woods.

• Wilson, a recent selection for the Palmer Cup, is currently second in the latest Golfstat rankings. He enters the Pac-12 Championship coming off a victory at the Western Intercollegiate.

• Stanford will feature each of its three freshmen in this weekend’s lineup – Maverick McNealy, Viraat Badhwar and Jim Liu.

• The Cardinal has won four times this season. In the last 17 seasons, only one team surpassed four wins (the 2007 national champion team had seven victories).

• Arizona will serve as host of the 55th Annual Pac-12 Men’s Golf Championship.

The Tournament
• The 72-hole event will be held at the par-72, 7,349-yard Gallery Golf Club in Marana, Ariz. It will be the second time the tournament has been contested at Gallery Golf Club, the last coming when Arizona took team honors at the 2004 event. Tucson National was site of the 1994 event, while Tucson Country Club was site of the 1984 tournament.

• The top five individuals from each team with the lowest scores for any 18-hole round constitute the scoring members of the six member team for that given round. The team championship will be awarded to the squad with the lowest total combined score for all rounds.

Stanford at the Pac-12 Championships
• Despite earning the Pac-12 Conference team title trophy seven times, the league crown has eluded Stanford since 1994. For the 2014 edition, Stanford returns to Southern Arizona and the Gallery Golf Club in Marana, Ariz. The last Cardinal title was won 20 years ago just an hour south at Tucson National Golf Course.

• Stanford holds claim to 20 individual league medalists, tied with USC for the conference lead. The Pac-12 champions to wear the cardinal and white include Pete Choate (1960, 1962), Sandy Adelman (1969), Mike Peck (1977, 1978), Jack Skilling (1980), Don Walsworth (1986), Christian Cevaer (1989, 1992), Tiger Woods (1996), Jim Seki (2002) and Andrew Yun (2012).

• Stanford clinched the inaugural Pac-12 title in 1960 and has since won the conference championships in 1968, 1970, 1974, 1977, 1992 and 1994.

1994 • Tucson National Golf Course (Tucson, Ariz.)
1992 • Trysting Tree Golf Course (Corvallis, Ore.)
1977 • Stanford Golf Course (Stanford, Calif.)
1974 • Stanford Golf Course (Stanford, Calif.)
1970 • Mira Vista Country Club (Richmond, Calif.)
1968 • Los Angeles Country Club (Los Angeles, Calif.)
1960 • Stanford Golf Course (Stanford, Calif.)

• In 1996, Tiger Woods’ 61 at the par-72 Big Canyon Country Club in Newport Beach, Calif., was the second-lowest single round score in the history of the Pac-12 Championships. Only Paul Casey’s collegiate-record 60 in the 1999 league meet was lower. Woods was a Pac-12 Championships record 11-under in his round.

Last Time at the Pac-12 Championships - April 29-May 1, 2013
• Stanford edged Arizona State by two strokes to finish fourth at the Pac-12 Championships held at Los Angeles Country Club.

• Heading into the final round, Arizona State had an eight-stroke lead but Stanford came back and fired 12-over while the Sun Devils shot 22-over to finish in fifth.

• No. 8 Stanford (366-361-365-362-1,454) started and finished in fourth, carding a 54-over.
Throughout the tournament, the top three teams on the leaderboard remained the same. Cal took the title at 6-over, No. 5 UCLA was second and No. 7 Washington finished third.

• Cameron Wilson (71-70-69-73) finished in ninth. First-round leader Patrick Rodgers (68-72-73-74) tied for 11th.

• Steve Kearney tied for 24th overall. Two shots behind Kearney was defending tournament champion Andrew Yun, who tied for 29th.

• David Boote tied for 45th while junior Shane Lebow tied for 66th.

The Last Time Out
• Cameron Wilson donned the blue letter jacket awarded to the Western Intercollegiate (April 12-13) champion after winning the event by two strokes over teammate Patrick Rodgers.

• Wilson’s second win on the season propelled No. 6 Stanford (-10) to the team title by 16 strokes over second-place No. 17 Washington. No. 3 Cal (+8) was third and San Diego State (+15) was fourth among the 14-team field.

• The lefty Wilson (67-67-69) was 7-under through three rounds at the par-70 track designed by Alister MacKenzie, the mastermind behind the famed layout of Augusta National Club. Rodgers (65-69-71) took silver honors with a 5-under and Maverick McNealy (71-69-67) tied for sixth.

• Wilson ended his final regular season as a Cardinal with birdies on the final two holes for a come-from-behind win over Rogers, who was riding a three-tournament winning streak heading into the finale at Pasatiempo Golf Club.

The Next Time Out

• The NCAA Regionals will be held May 15-17. The NCAA Men’s Golf Committee will select 81 teams and 45 individuals for regional competition including automatic qualifers (28) and at-large teams (53). Three of the six regionals will have 13 teams and ten individuals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals. Five teams and the low individual not on an advancing team from each regional shall advance to the finals.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts