Don't have an account? Click Here
South to Western Intercollegiate
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 04/11/2014
Western Intercollegiate
Saturday-Sunday, April 12-13
Pasatiempo Golf Club • Santa Cruz, Calif.

On the Web •
Live Results •
Cardinal Contingent • Patrick Rodgers, Cameron Wilson, Maverick McNealy, Viraat Badhwar, David Boote, Jim Liu, Patrick Grimes (Ind.), Dominick Francks (Ind.)
Shotgun Start • Saturday (8:15 a.m. PT), Sunday (8:15 a.m.)
Social Hour • • • #GoStanford

The Tournament
• Hosted by San Jose State, the Western Intercollegiate is the longest running college golf tournament west of the Mississippi River. Returning to the famed Alister MacKenzie-designed Pasatiempo Golf Club for the 68th year, this season’s edition boasts a field with five of the nation’s top-20 teams, including No. 6 Stanford and No. 3 Cal.

• The 88 players representing 14 schools will play 36 holes Saturday and 18 holes on Sunday. Team scores on the 6,615-yard, par-70 course will be calculated by a play-six, score-five format. 

• Stanford has won eight team titles, third behind San Jose State (12) and Fresno State (9).

• Cal won the 2013 Western Intercollegiate for its first title since 1950.

• Patrick Rodgers, who won the event in 2012, has a chance to join Joel Kribel (1997, 1999) as the only Cardinal to win multiple crowns.

• The Western Intercollegiate was originally conceived by the Northern California Golf Association as a means to give college players around the Bay Area an opportunity to play and gain tournament experience during Spring Break.

The Field
• The 14-team field includes No. 6 Stanford, No. 3 Cal, No. 17 Washington, No. 19 Texas, No. 20 USC, San Jose State, SMU, Arizona State, Memphis, Oregon, San Diego State, UC Irvine, UTEP, and Hawaii.

The Course
• Located in Santa Cruz, Calif., Pasatiempo Golf Club is regarded for its breathtaking scenery and deep-rooted golf history. Bobby Jones was one of the first players to hit from the first tee when the course opened in 1929.

• The course was designed by the famous English architect Alister MacKenzie, who claimed Pasatiempo was his best layout, ahead of even Cypress Point and Augusta National.

The Quote
• Knowles Family Director of Men’s Golf Conrad Ray previews the weekend …
“The team is eager to participate in the Western Intercollegiate this weekend. We are all appreciative of the rich history of the event and the amazing test of golf that Pasatiempo Golf Course provides. The event also features a 6-count-5 format and hopefully the depth of our team will shine though and speak for itself with the extra score each round. The team has been focusing on the important shots in practice that they will see in competition as well as tuning up their speed control on the greens which is always very important at Pasatiempo. We look to keep the momentum rolling from a rewarding week at The Goodwin and would love to win two events in a row for the first time this season.”

The Last Time Out
• Stanford boat raced an 18-team field and won The Goodwin (March 28-30) by 20 shots.

• The host Cardinal (268-281-266) checked in at 25-under to better Pac-12 Conference rivals USC and UCLA, who finished at 5-under.

• Patrick Rodgers won The Goodwin with a 14-under 196, including a final-round 64. Rodgers was joined in the top-5 by third-place Cameron Wilson. Tying for fourth was Maverick McNealy.

The Next Time Out
• The Cardinal turns its attention to the Pac-12 Championships (April 25-27) in Marana, Ariz.

Team Champion Individual Champion School
Cal Pedro Figueiredo UCLA
Texas Patrick Rodgers Stanford
UCLA Timothy Madigan New Mexico State
Oregon Eugene Wong Oregon
Oregon Diego Velasquez Oregon State
St. Mary’s Jack Newman Michigan State
Purdue John Streibich Xavier
Duke Rob Grube Stanford
Oregon J.J. Scurich Cal Poly
Colorado Kane Webber Colorado
UCLA Steve Conway UCLA
Washington Conner Robbins Washington
Oregon Lars Johansson San Diego State
Fresno State Jason Allred Pepperdine
Washington Joel Kribel Stanford
UC Santa Barbara Naoya Takemoto UC Santa Barbara
Ohio State Joel Kribel Stanford
Stanford Arron Oberholser San Jose State
USC Ryan Hietala UTEP
San Jose State Ted Snavely Oregon
Oregon Cam Martin Oregon
San Jose State Todd Fischer USF
UNLV Doug DuChateau Oregon
Fresno State Mike Foster San Jose State
Fresno State Rafael Ponce BYU
San Jose State Bruce Brockbank BYU
Fresno State Rich Greenwood UCLA
USC Sam Randolph USC
San Jose State Duffy Waldorf UCLA
San Jose State Grant Barnes San Jose State
UCLA • Fresno State Kris Moe San Diego State
USC Rich Fehr BYU
BYU Jay Don Blake Utah State
USC Bobby Clampett BYU
San Jose State Scott Watkins Arizona State
BYU Mark O’Meara Long Beach State
Arizona State Lee Mikles Arizona State
BYU Mike Brannan BYU
BYU Mark Lye San Jose State
Arizona State Peter Jacobsen Oregon
USC Don Baker USC
Arizona State Howard Twitty Arizona State
BYU Rich Simms Cal State Los Angeles
BYU Bob Clark Cal State Los Angeles
Arizona State Gary Sanders USC
BYU Johnny Miller BYU
San Jose State Jerry Heard Fresno State
USC Arne Dokka Cal State Los Angeles
San Jose State Arne Dokka Cal State Los Angeles
Fresno State Ross Randall San Jose State
San Jose State John Lotz San Jose State
Stanford John Lotz San Jose State
Fresno State John Lotz San Jose State
San Diego State Ron O’Connor San Diego State
Fresno State Joel Spinola Fresno State
Fresno State Dale Lingenbrink Seattle
San Jose State Stan Hobert Arizona State
Fresno State Gordon McKenzie Seattle
Stanford John McMullin Modesto College
Stanford Charles Van Linge Stanford
Stanford Ken Venturi San Jose State
Stanford Fred Brown Stanford
Stanford Ken Venturi San Jose State
California George Bruno San Jose State
San Jose State Al Nelson St. Mary's
San Jose State Al Nelson St. Mary's
Stanford Morgan Fottrell San Jose State



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts