Don't have an account? Click Here
Lee, DiRado Honda Finalists
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 03/30/2014

STANFORD, Calif. -- Stanford teammates Maya DiRado and Felicia Lee,  are the five nominees for the Honda Sports Award for swimming & diving as announced by Chris Voelz, Executive Director of THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA) today. California's Missy Franklin, Breeja Larson of Texas A&M and Georgia's Brittany MacLean are also nominees.

The Honda Sports Award is presented annually by the CWSA to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports and signifies “the best of the best in collegiate athletics."  The winner of the sport award becomes a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the prestigious 2014 Honda Cup.

The nominees were chosen by a panel of expert coaches from the sport of swimming & diving.

DiRado was named the 2014 Pac-12 Women's Swimmer of the Year and garnered six All-America honors a the 2014 NCAA Championship. The senior from Santa Rosa, Calif., won NCAA titles in the 200 and 400 individual medleys and garnered two more as a member of the 400 medley and 400 free relay teams. She finished her career with 21 All-America honors.

Lee earned seven All-America honors at the 2014 NCAA championship while capturing five NCAA titles. She finished first in the 100 fly and with relay teams in the 200 and 400 free and the 200 and 400 medley. The senior from Wayne, N.J., was a two-time Pac-12 Swimmer of the Month and finished her career overall with 19 All-America accolades.

The Honda Sports award winner for swimming & diving will be announced next week after voting by administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools. Each NCAA member institution has a vote.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
Stanford Baseball vs. Oregon