Don't have an account? Click Here
Pac-12 Honors Cardinal
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 03/26/2014

STANFORD, Calif. -- Stanford senior Maya DiRado and head coach Greg Meehan took home Pac-12 Conference postseason awards, the league office announced Wednesday. DiRado earned the Pac-12 Women’s Swimmer of the Year honor, while Meehan was named the conference’s top swimming coach.

It’s the first time the Cardinal has won either award since 2010. 

After a tremendous showing at the NCAA meet last week, DiRado was given the highest swimming honor in one of the top conferences in the nation. The senior swept the NCAA’s IM events, finished second in the 200 fly and contributed on two national championship relay squads as well as another third-place relay. She totaled six All-America honors to give her 21 over four years at Stanford.

The Santa Rosa, Calif., native has also excelled out of the pool. DiRado carries a 3.6 GPA, while majoring in managament, science and engineering. She has yet to decide her future plans after graduation. 

DiRado becomes the 11th different Stanford swimmer to take award.

Meehan led DiRado and the rest of the Cardinal to a surprise second-place showing at the NCAA championships. His team won seven events, which equaled its total from the last four years combined, to finish behind national champion Georgia and ahead of Pac-12 title-holder California.

In his second year on The Farm, Meehan guided Stanford to move up six spots from its eighth-place effort in 2013, as the Cardinal accumulated its most points since 2000 and best finish since 2010.

Meehan, who earned Stanford's seventh conference coach of the year honor, was voted the national Swimming Coach of the Year by the College Swimming Coaches Association of America at the conclusion of the NCAA meet.

Cal's Missy Franklin was named the Pac-12 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year.

All of the Pac-12 accolades are voted on by the conference’s coaches.  



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts