Don't have an account? Click Here
Anderson and Reynolds on Lott IMPACT Award Watch List for 2013
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 05/23/2013

May 23, 2013

STANFORD, Calif. – Stanford defensive end Henry Anderson and free safety Ed Reynolds are among a group of 42 players named to the 2013 Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List, an award that is presented to the top defensive player in the country for his outstanding achievements both on and off the playing field.

The IMPACT portion of the award stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity, traits that the award recipient is to embody.

A 14-game starter a year ago, Anderson caught fire during Stanford’s dramatic second half of the season. Starting in the seventh game of the year Anderson collected 11.5 of his 13.0 tackles for a loss and 4.5 of his year’s 5.5 sacks. The recipient of Stanford’s Tommy Vardell Award, epitomizing excellence in both academics and academics, Anderson was a Pac-12 All-Academic first team honoree as well as a second team All-Pac-12 performer.

Anderson majors in political science and boasts a 3.50 GPA. Last year, he was selected to the Capital One Academic All-District® VIII Team, as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA). The team recognizes the nation's top student-athletes for their combined performances athletically and in the classroom.

Reynolds established himself as one of the most electric defensive backs in the nation in 2012, leading the Cardinal with six interceptions (the most since Jim Kaffen in 1973.) Three of those interceptions went for touchdowns and his 301 interception return yards fell one yard shy of the NCAA record. Reynolds was selected to the Associated Press All-America third team and was an All-Pac-12 first teamer.

Reynolds majors in political science and boasts a 3.09 GPA.

Stanford joins six other schools to have multiple candidates from their ranks on the 2013 Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List.

The Pac-12 Conference leads the way with 11 nominees, followed by the Big Ten, ACC and Big-12 with seven each and the SEC with five. The Mountain West has two nominees and the other three nominees come from football Independents.

There are 20 linebackers, 14 defensive backs and eight defensive linemen on the list.

Linebacker Chase Thomas was a finalist for the award in 2012 and went on to sign with the New Orleans Saints this offseason.

In 2012, two-way player Owen Marecic received an honorary Lott IMPACT trophy after starting at both fullback and linebacker and carrying a 3.47 GPA. Marecic was a finalist for the Campbell Award, referred to as the academic Heisman trophy. 

Voting for the Lott IMPACT Trophy will take place throughout the season with weekly honorees and season semifinalists announced in November. The award will be presented Dec. 8 in Newport Beach, Calif.

About the Lott IMPACT Trophy
Named after Pro Football Hall of Fame member, Ronnie Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Founded in 2004 by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player. The Lott Trophy is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and the Legends Coaches which is a distinguished group of former college football head coaches. 



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts