Don't have an account? Click Here
Keep Watching
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 07/10/2014

STANFORD, Calif. –  Stanford’s Henry Anderson headlines another impressive day on the watch list front with the fifth-year defensive lineman earning mention on the Bronko Nagurski Award and John Outland Trophy watch lists. Anderson was joined today on the Nagurski list by Alex Carter, Jordan Richards and A.J. Tarpley while Andrus Peat was named to the Outland list.

The Nagurski Trophy honors the most outstanding defensive player while the Outland Trophy recognizes the nation’s most outstanding interior lineman.

The Pac-12 Conference led all leagues with 17 players on the 2014 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List, with Washington, Stanford, USC and Oregon supplying the majority from that conference.

Stanford and Washington led all schools with four players apiece on the Nagurski Watch List. Ten other schools had three players on the list: Alabama, Clemson, Georgia, Michigan, Michigan State, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas, TCU and USC.

For the Cardinal, all four nominees were also named to the Bednarik Award Watch List earlier in the week.

Players may be added or removed from the watch list during the course of the season. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2014 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 20.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2014 FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's entire membership, selects the 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in America.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be held on Dec. 8 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte.

The FWAA has named a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993. In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of the legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota. Nagurski dominated college football then became a star for professional football's Chicago Bears in the 1930s. Bronislaw “Bronko” Nagurski is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame. Pittsburgh tackle Aaron Donald won the award last season.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 26-man first team and eventually the Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Nov. 20. Four days later, three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 69th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century, will be announced on ESPN on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 11 from Disney's Boardwalk in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 15, 2015, in Omaha, Neb.

Anderson had previously been named to the Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List, given to the nation’s defensive player of the year. The preseason accolades give notice to high esteem that voters have for Anderson, who was limited to eight games during 2013 due to a leg injury. Despite the injury, Anderson still earned all-Pac-12 honors – the second time in his career that he earned recognition by the league’s coaches. The political science major and 2013 Pac-12 All-Academic team honoree, had his breakout campaign in 2012 where he logged 16 tackles for a loss from his defensive end position.

Carter, a junior psychology major, has earned All-Pac-12 honorable mention honors in each of his first two seasons since assuming a starting role at cornerback for the last eight games of his freshman season. Last year Carter started all 13 games that he played in and registered a team-high seven pass breakups. He was named to the Bednarik Award Watch List earlier in the week.

Richards teams with Carter to form an impressive defensive backfield. One of the school’s premier student-athletes, Richards earned Capitol One Academic All-America honors last year and is a preseason All-American by Athlon. Additionally, the Folsom, Calif. native is one of two Stanford players on the Lott IMPACT Trophy watch list. Richards is a two-time Pac-12 All-Academic and honorable mention pick. Last year he logged 69 tackles with four coming for a loss, three interceptions and three pass breakups. Like Carter, he was named to the Bednarik Award Watch List earlier in the week.  

Tarpley has started 32 career games at inside linebacker and is regarded as one of Stanford’s most underrated players. Award organizations have taken notice with the Plymouth, Minn. native also earning a spot on the Bednarik list. Tarpley finished second on the Cardinal defense with 93 tackles in 2013 (52 solo) while playing opposite of All-Americans Shayne Skov and Trent Murphy.

This year marks the second on the Maxwell preseason list for Hogan, a multi-faceted quarterback who ran for the third-highest single season yardage by a Stanford quarterback last season (355 yards). Through the air Hogan attempted just 295 passes but completed 180 of them (61 percent) en route to 2,630 yards and 20 touchdowns. 

Peat makes his first career Watch List but quickly became a known commodity last year in his first season as a starter. In fact, head coach David Shaw moved two-time All-American David Yankey (drafted by Minnesota this spring) last season from left tackle to left guard to make room for Peat’s 6 foot 7, 312 pound frame guarding quarterback Kevin Hogan’s back. The nation’s top-rated recruit by Sporting News out of Chandler, Ariz. in 2011, Peat already has one career All-America honor under his belt (Sports Illustrated) and is a preseason first team selection by Athlon.

Stanford’s season opens Aug. 30 with a 1 p.m. (PT) home game against UC Davis on Pac-12 Networks. The Cardinal plays its first three games at home with USC visiting the Stadium Sept. 6 (12:30 p.m., ABC) and Army visiting Sept. 13 (2 p.m., Pac-12 Net).

Season tickets are on sale with five sections and price levels already sold out. Three-game Mini plans are also on sale now.

Season ticket holders are eligible to purchase individual game tickets for all 2014 home games starting July 8-9. Single-game tickets go on sale July 21 with a special online-only promotion code through Stanford’s Facebook and @GoStanford Twitter account. All tickets are on sale starting July 22.

Fans are encouraged to visit to buy season tickets.

2014 Preseason Watch List (through today’s announcements)
Maxwell Award (Player of the year)
Kevin Hogan
Ty Montgomery

Bednarik Award (Defensive player of the year)
Henry Anderson
Alex Carter
Jordan Richards
A.J. Tarpley

Rimington Award (Most outstanding center)
Graham Shuler

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award (Most outstanding place kicker)
Jordan Williamson

Bronko Nagurski Award (Outstanding defensive player)
Henry Anderson
Alex Carter
Jordan Richards
A.J. Tarpley

John Outland Trophy (Outstanding interior lineman)
Henry Anderson
Andrus Peat



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts