Don't have an account? Click Here
Ty Montgomery was voted the nation's premier kick returner of 2013
Montgomery Jet
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 04/10/2014

OMAHA, Neb. – Stanford junior Ty Montgomery accepted the 2013 Jet Award, which goes to the nation’s top kick return specialist, Thursday night at Ralston Arena.

Montgomery, a native of Dallas, Texas, led the nation during the regular season with a 31.2 yards per kickoff return average while taking a pair of kicks back for touchdowns. Montgomery, who finished the year at 30.3 yards per kick return, ranked ninth nationally with 157.7 all-purpose yards per game and had 10 games with at least 100 plus all-purpose yards in leading Stanford to a second-straight Pac-12 championship and it’s second trip in as many season to the Rose Bowl Game.

Voting was conducted by a selection committee of football writers and broadcasters from around the country, as well as Johnny “The Jet” Rodgers, the 1972 Heisman trophy winner whose nickname graces the award. Montgomery emerged for the Jet Award from a group of three finalists including LSU’s Odell Beckham, Jr. and Ryan Switzer of North Carolina. 

Joining Montgomery in an impressive showing of football personalities on Thursday were former Heisman Trophy winners Mike Rozier (1983), Eric Crouch (2001) and Rodgers along with former Oklahoma and NFL great Greg Pruitt and the family of Nebraska great Pat Fischer, winner of the 1960 Legacy Award. ESPN personality Jay Harris delivered the keynote address. 

The award event funds the Johnny Rodgers Career and Technical Education Scholarship at Metropolitan Community College.

A consensus All-American at kick returner including the Walter Camp Football Foundation, Montgomery earned All-Pac-12 first-team honors at kick returner and second-team honors at wide receiver.

To be considered for the Jet Award, players must be a primary kick or punt returner for their team. They must be among the national leaders in return categories and show leadership, courage, desire and respect for authority and discipline. West Virginia’s Tavon Austin won the award in 2012. Joe Adams of Arkansas won the inaugural award in 2011. 

For more information about the Jet Award, the award program and the scholarships, visit



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts