Don't have an account? Click Here
Ty Montgomery
The Jet
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 01/07/2014

STANFORD, Calif. – Stanford junior Ty Montgomery has been named the recipient of the 2013 Jet Award, which goes to the nation’s top kick return specialist.

Montgomery, a native of Dallas, Texas, led the nation with a 30.3 yards per kickoff return average while taking a pair of kicks back for touchdowns. Montgomery ranked ninth with 157.7 all-purpose yards per game and had 11 games with at least 100 plus all-purpose yards including five consecutive to end the season.

A consensus All-American at kick returner, Montgomery earned All-Pac-12 first-team honors at kick returner and second-team honors at wide receiver.

Montgomery travels to New Haven, Conn., this weekend for the Walter Camp All-America Weekend. He will be joined by fellow Walter Camp selections David Yankey and Trent Murphy.

Montgomery emerged for the Jet Award from a group of three finalists including LSU’s Odell Beckham, Jr. and Ryan Switzer of North Carolina. 

Voting was conducted by a selection committee of football writers and broadcasters from around the country, as well as Johnny “The Jet” Rodgers, the 1972 Heisman trophy winner whose nickname graces the award.

The award ceremony will take place April 10 at the Ralston Arena in Omaha. The keynote speaker will be Jay Harris of ESPN. The award event funds the Johnny Rodgers Career and Technical Education Scholarship at Metropolitan Community College.

To be considered for the Jet Award, players must be a primary kick or punt returner for their team. They must be among the national leaders in return categories and show leadership, courage, desire and respect for authority and discipline. West Virginia’s Tavon Austin won the award in 2012. Joe Adams of Arkansas won the inaugural award in 2011. 

Veteran college football return specialists will be honored with Legacy awards each year as well. Former LSU Tiger and 1959 Heisman Trophy winner Billy Cannon was awarded the 2012 Legacy award. This year, a veteran return specialist from the 1960’s will receive the Legacy award.

For more information about the Jet Award, the award program and the scholarships, visit



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts