Don't have an account? Click Here
Top Pac-12 Academic Honor
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 12/05/2013

STANFORD, Calif. – Stanford punter Ben Rhyne has been named the 2013 Pac-12 Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year, as announced Thursday by the Pac-12 Conference.

Rhyne, a senior biomechanical engineering major from Charlotte, N.C., has maintained a 3.88 grade-point average during his time on The Farm.

As the starting punter for the nationally-ranked Cardinal in 2013, his 42.2 yards/punt average is good for fourth in the conference. Rhyne’s only touchback in 44 attempts came in the second week of the season.

Fifteen of his punts have been downed inside the 20-yard line while posting nine kicks of 50-plus yards, including a career-long 58-yarder against Washington.

Rhyne was named All-Pac-12 honorable mention and earned first-team All-Academic honors in 2013. Rhyne was one of 10 Stanford student-athletes to earn Pac-12 All-Academic accolades.

Other nominees included Jake Fischer (Arizona), Gannon Conway (Arizona State), Mark Brazinski (Cal), Nate Bonsu (Colorado), Taylor Hart (Oregon), Steven Christian (Oregon State), Devon Kennard (USC), Sean Fitzgerald (Utah) and Andrew Furney (Washington State).

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least half of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season.

The award was established by the league to honor student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their respective sport disciplines. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 22 sponsored sports.

The Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards were established during the 2007-08 academic year.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts