Don't have an account? Click Here
Rodgers Wins Haskins Award
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 06/09/2014

STANFORD, Calif. – Patrick Rodgers was named the winner of the 2014 Haskins Award, culminating a magical college career at Stanford that made him a three-time All-American and winner of 11 individual championships, equaling a school record held by 1996 Haskins recipient Tiger Woods.

Rodgers, the Pac-12 Player of the Year, joins an illustrious list of past Haskins winners, an award that for 44 years has invited a player’s peers to decide the winner of college golf’s most coveted honor.

The award is governed by the Fred Haskins Commission, an organization based in Columbus, Ga. It is named for a resident pro at the Country Club of Columbus who long ago learned to play the game at Hoylake, the site of the 2014 British Open.

The Cardinal golfer will be presented the award July 1 at a special reception at the Greenbrier Resort in White Sulphur Springs, W.Va. Rodgers also receives an exemption to compete in the 2014 Greenbrier Classic, played on the Old White TPC, a legendary course that has been testing golfers since 1914.

“Patrick Rodgers is the best amateur golfer in the world and he certainly deserves a place in history. We are proud to honor him, his family and his university with an award that represents the principles, values and traditions of this wonderful game. His resume speaks for itself and it helped him emerge from a very talented cadre of college golfers this year,” said J. Madden Hatcher, chairman of the Fred Haskins Commission.

This year alone, the Indiana native finished first in the NCAA Regional and Pac-12 Championships along with the Erin Hills Intercollegiate, The Prestige at PGA West, Southern Highlands Collegiate Masters and The Goodwin. He finished second in the Sagarin/Golfweek rankings and tied for 15th in the NCAA Championships.

Rodgers joins an impressive group of Haskins’ alumni that have won 28 majors and more than 260 professional tournaments around the world. Ben Crenshaw of Texas and Phil Mickelson of Arizona State are the only three-time winners on a list that includes Woods, Matt Kuchar of Georgia Tech, Luke Donald of Northwestern, Graeme McDowell of UAB and Russell Henley of Georgia.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts