Don't have an account? Click Here
Photo courtesy Don Feria/
Best Of The Best
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 04/03/2014
STANFORD, Calif. -- Stanford senior Felicia Lee was named the Honda Sports Award winner for swimming & diving, Chris Voelz, Executive Director of THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA) today. With the honor, Lee becomes a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the prestigious 2014 Honda Cup.

The Honda Sports Award is presented annually by the CWSA to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA- sanctioned sports and signifies “the best of the best in collegiate athletics.” Lee was chosen by a vote of administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools. Finalists included Lee’s teammate and Pac-12 Swimmer of the Year Maya DiRado, Missy Franklin (California), Breeja Larson (Texas A&M) and Brittany MacLean (Georgia).

“I’m truly honored to be receiving the Honda Sports Award this year,” said Lee. “It has been a special year for Stanford swimming and diving and it’s important to recognize that it’s not really just an award for me; it’s for my coaches, my teammates, my parents, and everyone who has helped me along the way to get here. I couldn’t be more thrilled to have been able to represent Stanford and win the award for my school.”

Head coach Greg Meehan, whose Stanford program produced two finalists for the first time since 2010, echoed Lee. “We are honored that we had two members of the program nominated for the award this year in Maya DiRado and Felicia Lee, along with the other three outstanding candidates,” said the second-year head coach. “We’re thrilled that Felicia is being awarded the Honda Award and grateful to the administrators for recognizing the incredible work that Felicia did this year.”

Lee (Wayne, N.J./Towson HS (Md.)) earned seven All-America honors at the 2014 NCAA championships while capturing five NCAA titles. She finished first in the 100 fly and with relay teams in the 200 and 400 free and the 200 and 400 medley.  Her effort in the 400 medley relay helped the Cardinal to an American record.

“What she did extends beyond the NCAA championships,” Meehan pointed out. “She was tremendous for us from the first meet of the season through the last.”

Overall, she has been a part of - either individually or in a relay - four school records, three Avery Aquatic Center records, two Pac-12 titles and finished her career with 19 All-America accolades. The human biology major was also a two-time Pac-12 Swimmer of the Month this season.

Nine members of the Cardinal women’s swimming and diving team have claimed the award 11 times since its inception in 1976-77. Stanford  leads all swimming and diving programs.

Five Honda Sports Awards winners for swimming & diving have gone on to win the prestigious Honda Cup - Tara Kirk (Stanford, 2004), Cristina Teuscher (Columbia, 2000), Mary T. Meagher (Cal Berkeley, 1987), Tracy Caulkins (Florida, 1984 &1982) and Jill Sterkel (Texas, 1981).

THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards has honored the nation’s top NCAA women athletes for 37 years, recognizing superior athletic skills, leadership, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service.   Since commencing its sponsorship in 1986, Honda has provided more than $2.7 million in institutional grants to the universities of the award winners and nominees to support women’s athletics programs at the institutions. 

Collegiate Women Sports Award Winners
2013-14 - Felicia Lee, Stanford University

2012-13 - Allison Schmitt, University of Georgia
2011-12 - Caitlin Leverenz, University of California
2010-11 - Katinka Hosszu, University of Southern California
2009-10 - Julia Smit, Stanford University
2008-09 - Dana Vollmer, University of California
2007-08 - Caroline Burckle, University of Florida
2006-07 - Kara Lynn Joyce, University of Georgia
2005-06 - Mary DeScenza, University of Georgia
2004-05 - Kirsty Coventry, Auburn University
2003-04 - Tara Kirk, Stanford University
2002-03 - Natalie Coughlin, University of California
2001-02 - Natalie Coughlin, University of California
2000-01 - Misty Hyman, Stanford University
1999-00 - Cristina Teuscher, Columbia University
1998-99 - Martina Moravcova, Southern Methodist University
1997-98 - Misty Hyman, Stanford University
1996-97 - Kristine Quance, University of Southern California
1995-96 - Kristine Quance, University of Southern California
1994-95 - Jenny Thompson, Stanford University
1993-94 - Nicole Haislette, University of Florida
1992-93 - Janel Jorgensen, Stanford University
1991-92 - Summer Sanders, Stanford University
1990-91 - Leigh Ann Fetter, University of Texas
1989-90 - Janet Evans, Stanford University
1988-89 - Jenna Johnson, Stanford University
1987-88 - Betsy Mitchell, University of Texas
1986-87 - Mary T. Meagher, University of California
1985-86 - Jenna Johnson, Stanford University
1984-85 - Mary T. Meagher, University of California
1983-84 - Tracy Caulkins, University of Florida
1982-83 - Tracy Caulkins, University of Florida
1981-82 - Tracy Caulkins, University of Florida
1980-81 - Jill Sterkel, University of Texas
1979-80 - Jill Sterkel, University of Texas
1978-79 - Joan Pennington, University of Texas
1977-78 - Renee Laravie, University of Florida
1976-77 - Melissa Belote, Arizona State University


Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts