Don't have an account? Click Here
Turner Named Finalist
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 03/12/2014

STANFORD, Calif. – Stanford men’s gymnast Chris Turner was named a finalist for the Nissen-Emery Award, which is given annually to the nation’s top senior gymnast, as announced Wednesday by the College Gymnastics Association.

Turner is one of nine finalists for the prestigious honor and is Stanford’s 21st nominee. The other finalists include California’s Donothan Bailey, Minnesota’s Zack Chase, Oklahoma’s Presten Ellsworth, Penn State’s Adrian Evans, William & Mary’s Landon Funiciello, Michigan’s Sam Mikulak, Ohio State’s Michael Newburger and Army’s Kip Webber.

Turner has had an outstanding career at Stanford that has included first team All-America honors on pommel horse in 2011 with a then-collegiate best 15.000 to place fourth in the NCAA Championships Individual Finals, and contributing a 14.700 and 14.550 in the NCAA Semifinals and Finals, respectively, to help Stanford win the 2011 national championship.

Turner has claimed eight individual victories as a junior and senior in pommel horse (3), rings (2) high bar (2) and the all-around (1).

This year’s winner will be announced at the University of Michigan during the CGA Awards Banquet which is being held at the Jack Roth Stadium Club on Wednesday, April 9, at 8 p.m. EST, in Ann Arbor, Mich., the site for this year’s NCAA Championships.

Eddie Penev (’13) was Stanford’s most recent Nissen-Emery finalist and became the Cardinal’s fourth winner when he received the award before last year’s NCAA Championships.

The highest honor in collegiate gymnastics, the Nissen-Emery award has been presented annually since 1966 to an outstanding senior collegiate gymnast based on his achievement, sportsmanship and academic excellence.

The original Nissen Award was named in honor of George Nissen, a former NCAA champion, for his contributions to men’s gymnastics. The award was re-named the Nissen-Emery Award in 1998 to honor Dr. Robert Emery, a Penn State graduate, who won the Nissen Award in 1969.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts