Don't have an account? Click Here
Upcoming NCAA Championships
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 12/11/2013

STANFORD, Calif.- Stanford has been named as the host site for the 2015 NCAA Championship in men’s volleyball and women’s water polo, as announced on Wednesday morning.

Stanford will also serve as a host site for the 2014 NCAA West Regional Championships for men’s and women’s cross country.

Stanford last hosted the NCAA Championship in men’s volleyball during the 2010 campaign, when the Cardinal completed a memorable “worst-to-first” title run that ended with a sweep of Penn State at Maples Pavilion. The NCAA Championship in women’s water polo was most recently held at the Avery Aquatic Center in 2008, when the Cardinal claimed a third-place finish.

The 2014 NCAA West Regional Championships for men’s and women’s cross country will be held at the Stanford Golf Course. Stanford last hosted in 2011. The two-time defending champion men have won two of the regional home meets, as have the Cardinal women.

“When you look at the list of cities and venues that will host our championships, there is no doubt the experiences across divisions and sports will likely be the best in NCAA history,” said Mark Lewis, NCAA executive vice president of championships and alliances. “The process was extremely thorough and allowed the sport committees to have some tremendous options, which will ultimately provide our student-athletes, coaches and fans the best experience possible.”

The new NCAA championship bid process creates the largest host site announcement ever, spanning 82 championships across a four-year cycle. Previously, selection announcements varied by sport. This process now gives the NCAA and host sites more time to plan each championship experience.

Bidding for 82 of the 89 NCAA championships began in July and 1,984 bid applications were ultimately submitted. Each sport committee, per division, selected the host sites it believed would provide the ultimate experience for the respective student-athletes, resulting in 523 total championship even sites awarded. The seven championships not included in the process due to pre-existing site arrangements are: Division I baseball, Division I men’s basketball, Division I football, Division I men’s and women’s golf, Division I softball and Division III women’s ice hockey.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts