Don't have an account? Click Here
Davis Dudchock
Academic Achievement Honors
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 11/26/2013

WACO, Texas - Georgia, Rice, Stanford and Tulane will share the American Football Coaches Asso­­ciation’s 2013 Aca­demic Achieve­ment Award, which is presented by the Touchdown Club of Memphis. Georgia, Rice, Stanford and Tulane recorded a 100 percent graduation rate for members of its freshman football student-athlete class of 2006. This is the first time Georgia and Tulane have received this award, and the second honor for Rice and Stanford, which also won the award in 2012.

The award will be presented at the President’s Kickoff Luncheon on Jan. 13 at the 2014 AFCA Convention in Indianapolis. 

This year’s award marks the sixth time the NCAA’s Graduation Success Rate (GSR) formula has been used to select the winner. From 1981 to 2007, the award was presented based on a formula used by the College Football Association and AFCA. Since 2008, the criteria for the AFCA’s Academic Achievement Award is based on the highest NCAA GSR, at least 15 students in the GSR Cohort, and a Federal Graduation Rate of 75 percent or better. 

Forty-six other institutions will be recognized for graduating 75 percent or more of their football student-athletes. Twelve of those institutions - Army, Boston College, Duke, East Carolina, Louisiana Tech, Nebraska, Northwestern, South Florida, TCU, UCLA, Virginia Tech and Washington - achieved a rate of 90 percent or better. The remaining 34 institutions are: Air Force, Alabama, Boise State, Central Florida, Clemson, Connecticut, Florida, Louisiana-Lafayette, Louisville, Maryland, Memphis, Michigan State, Middle Tennessee State, Minnesota, Missouri, Navy, Northern Illinois, Notre Dame, Ohio State, Oregon, SMU, South Carolina, Southern Mississippi, Temple, Texas A&M, Toledo, Tulsa, Utah, Utah State, Virginia, Wake Forest, West Virginia, Western Kentucky and Wisconsin.

The Academic Achievement Award was established by the College Football Association in 1981. The award recognized the CFA-member Football Bowl Subdivision institution with the highest graduation rate among members of its football team. When the CFA disbanded in 1997, the AFCA stepped in to present the award and conduct a graduation rate survey that encompassed all members of the FBS. 

The GSR is based on a six-year graduation window for student-athletes which is a change from the five-year window used by the CFA and AFCA. The GSR was developed by the NCAA as part of its academic reform initiative to more accurately assess the academic success of student-athletes. The GSR holds institutions accountable for transfer students, unlike the federal graduation rate. The GSR also accounts for midyear enrollees. 

Under GSR calculation, institutions are not penalized for outgoing transfer students who leave in good academic standing. These outgoing transfers are passed to the receiving institution’s GSR cohort. By counting incoming transfer students and midyear enrollees, the GSR increases the total number of student-athletes tracked for graduation by more than 37 percent.

2013 Conference Breakdown of Winners and Honorable Mentions: AAC- 7, ACC- 7, Conference USA- 7, Big 10- 6, SEC- 6, Pac-12- 5, Independents- 3, Mountain West- 3, Big 12- 2, MAC- 2, Sun Belt- 2.

Academic Achievement Award Winners Through the Years

1981: Duke* 

1982: Notre Dame*

1983: Notre Dame*

1984: Duke & Notre Dame*

1985: Virginia*

1986: Virginia*

1987: Duke*

1988: Notre Dame*

1989: Kentucky*

1990: Duke*

1991: Notre Dame*

1992: Boston College & TCU*

1993: Duke*

1994: Duke*

1995: Boston College, Duke & Wake Forest*

1996: Boston College, Duke & Vanderbilt*

1997: Duke*

1998: Northwestern

1999: Duke

2000: Syracuse

2001: Notre Dame & Vanderbilt

2002: Northwestern

2003: Duke

2004: Boston College & Northwestern

2005: Duke & Northwestern

2006: SMU

2007: Northwestern & Notre Dame

2008: Vanderbilt

2009: Notre Dame & Miami (Fla.)

2010: Northwestern & Rice

2011: Boise State & Miami (Ohio)

2012: Northwestern & Stanford

2013: Georgia, Rice, Stanford & Tulane
*- Presented by the CFA

Most Awards: Duke, 12; Notre Dame, 8; Northwestern, 7; Boston College, 4; Vanderbilt, 3.

Most Honorable Mentions: Notre Dame, 24; Virginia, 23; Penn State, 22; Rice, 22; Boston College, 21; Vanderbilt, 21.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts