Don't have an account? Click Here
Tyler Gaffney
Doak Walker Semifinalist
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 11/14/2013

DALLAS, Texas  – Stanford senior running back Tyler Gaffney is among 10 semifinal candidates for the 2013 Doak Walker Award, as announced by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors.

The award is named after three-time SMU All-America running back and 1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker. Walker, who also punted, returned kicks and kicked extra points, led the Mustangs to two Southwest Conference Championships. He was drafted by the Detroit Lions and led the league in scoring his rookie year. During his six years with the Lions, he led the team to two NFL championships and was chosen All-Pro four times. Walker is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

Gaffney returned to Stanford in the 2013 spring quarter after leaving school to play professional baseball in the Pittsburgh Pirates’ organization. Playing for the Class-A State College Spikes, Gaffney batted .297 with a lofty .483 on-base-percentage before deciding to complete his degree and football eligibility. 

Gaffney (1,834) is the third Stanford player since 2009 to record at least 1,000 career rushing yards, joining Toby Gerhart (3,522) and Stepfan Taylor (4,300). Senior RB Anthony Wilkerson (1,146) later became the fourth player since 2009 to eclipse 1,000 career rushing yards.

The San Diego, Calif., native has more rushing touchdowns (13) this season than yards lost (10). He has lost yardage on just six carries. His school-record 45 rushing attempts vs. Oregon were the most by an FBS running back since 2010 and his 24 first half attempts are the most in a first half by an FBS player this season.

With his three touchdowns at Oregon State, Gaffney became the first Stanford player with three rushing touchdowns in a single game since Josh Nunes vs. Arizona on Oct. 6, 2012.

Members of the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast their votes to determine the 2013 finalists. On Nov. 25, three finalists will be named. A second vote by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will determine the recipient. The 2013 Doak Walker Award recipient will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 12 on ESPN.

Honoring the legends of sports for 24 years, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum celebrates outstanding success in athletics. Based in Dallas, the series features major figures from a variety of sports. The PwC SMU Athletic Forum includes four luncheons and the prestigious Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

Daok Walker Semifinalists
Ameer Abdullah (Jr.)          Nebraska
Antonio Andrews (Sr.)       Western Kentucky
Ka’Deem Carey (Jr.)           Arizona
Mike Davis (So.)                   South Carolina
Tyler Gaffney (Sr.)           Stanford
Melvin Gordon (So.)           Wisconsin
Tre Mason (Jr.)                     Auburn
Bishop Sankey (Jr.)            Washington
Lache Seastrunk (Jr.)        Baylor
Andre Williams (Sr.)           Boston College



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts