Don't have an account? Click Here
Ed Reynolds
Reynolds is Lott Semifinalist
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 11/13/2013

STANFORD, Calif. – Stanford senior free safety Ed Reynolds has been named among nine semifinal candidates for the 10th annual Lott IMPACT Trophy, presented by the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation.

A National Voter Panel will determine the winner and finalists, all of whom will be invited to attend the Lott IMPACT Trophy banquet Dec. 8 in Newport Beach, Calif. The National Voter Panel is made up of former college coaches, players, members of the media and past winners and finalists of the Lott Trophy.

The semifinalists include: Anthony Barr (LB, UCLA), Chris Borland (LB, Wisconsin), Aaron Donald (DT, Pitt), Devon Kennard (DE, USC), James Morris (LB, Iowa), C.J. Mosley (LB, Alabama), Ed Reynolds (S, Stanford), Ryan Shazier (LB, Ohio State) and Kyle Van Noy (LB, BYU).

After logging seven interceptions a year ago, opposing teams have stayed away from Reynolds this year in a show of respect. He has just one interception and one breakup but ranks third on the team with 58 total tackles and leads the way with 40 solo efforts. His presence was felt in the Oregon State game when he broke up a pass in the end zone on the final play of the game to preserve a 20-12 road victory. All told, he has four passes defended this season.

The Lott IMPACT Trophy, which has now donated more than $1 million to charities, including universities throughout the country, is the only college football award where character counts.  IMPACT is an acronym for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

The school of the winner will receive $25,000 for its general scholarship fund with each of the runnerups receiving $5,000 for their universities. 

Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott will be the keynote speaker at the banquet, which will be televised live by FOX Sports at 7 p.m. Pacific time.

Lott IMPACT Trophy Semifinalists
Anthony Barr, LB, UCLA
Chris Borland, LB, Wisconsin
Aaron Donald, DL, Pitt
Devon Kennard, DE, USC
James Morris, LB, Iowa
C.J. Mosley, LB, Alabama
Ed Reynolds, S, Stanford
Ryan Shazier, LB, Ohio State
Kyle Van Noy, LB, BYU

Previous Winners
2004 - David Pollack, DE, Georgia
2005 - DeMeco Ryans, LB, Alabama
2006 - Dante Hughes, DB, Cal
2007 - Glenn Dorsey, DT, LSU
2008 - James Laurinaitis, LB, Ohio State
2009 - Jerry Hughes, DE, TCU
2010 - J.J. Watt, DL, Wisconsin
2011 - Luke Kuechly, LB, Boston College
2012 - Manti Te’o, LB, Notre Dame



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts