Don't have an account? Click Here
Ed Reynolds
Reynolds Named Lott Impact Quarterfinalist
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 10/23/2013

STANFORD, Calif. – Stanford senior free safety Ed Reynolds has been named among 20
candidates as a quarterfinalist for the 10th annual Lott IMPACT Trophy, presented by the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation.

There are 11 linebackers on the list, seven defensive backs and two defensive linemen.  In the nine years of the Lott Trophy, linebackers have won four times, defensive linemen four times and defensive backs once.

After logging seven interceptions a year ago, opposing teams have stayed away from Reynolds’ side of the field this year. he has just one interception and one breakup but ranks second on the team with 50 tackles.

Eight semi-finalists for the award will be announced Nov. 13, four finalists will be announced Nov. 27 and the winner at the 10th annual Lott IMPACT Trophy Banquet Dec. 8 at the Pacific Club in Newport Beach.  The university of the winner will receive $25,000 for its general scholarship fund and each of the other finalists will receive $5,000 for their schools’ general scholarship fund. 

Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott will be the keynote speaker and the awards ceremony will be televised on FOX Sports beginning at 7 p.m Pacific time. 

The Quarter-Finalists
Anthony Barr,LB, UCLA
Chirs Borland, LB, Wisconsin
Max Bullough, LB, Michigan State
Ibraheim Campbell, DB, Northwestern
Alden Darby, DB, Arizona State
Aaron Donald, DT, Pittsburgh
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, DB, Oregon
Bryce Hager, LB, Baylor
Lamarcus Joyner, DB, Florida State
Eric Kendricks, LB, UCLA
Devon Kennard, LB, USC
James Morris, LB, Iowa
C.J. Mosley, LB, Alabama
Ed Reynolds, S, Stanford
Ryan Shazier, LB, Ohio State
Spencer Shuey, LB, Clemson
Derron Smith, DB, Fresno State
Stephon Tuitt, DL, Notre Dame
Kyle Van Noy, LB, BYU
Jason Verrett, CB, TCU

Previous winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy
2004–David Pollack, DE, Georgia
2005-DeMeco Ryans, LB, Alabama
2006-Dante Hughes, DB, Cal
2007-Glenn Dorsey, DT, LSU
2008-James Laurinaitis, LB, Ohio State
2009-Jerry Hughes, DE, TCU
2010-J.J. Watt, DL, Wisconsin
2011-Luke Kuechly, LB, Boston College
2012-Manti Te’o, LB, Notre Dame




Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts