Don't have an account? Click Here
Soccer player Taylor Graham, along with water polo's Nick Ellis, were awarded NCAA postgraduate scholarships.
Soccer player Taylor Graham, along with water polo's Nick Ellis, were awarded NCAA postgraduate scholarships.
Ellis and Graham Receive NCAA Postgraduate Scholarships

May 2, 2003

Indianapolis, Ind. - Stanford water polo player Nick Ellis (Santa Ana, Calif.) and men's soccer player Taylor Graham (Fair Oaks, Calif.) were awarded NCAA postgraduate scholarships. The scholarships are awarded to student-athletes who excel academically and athletically and who are in their last year of intercollegiate athletics competition.

Ellis was the only male water polo player chosen as a recipient while Graham was one of only four Division I soccer players.

The one-time grants of 6,900 dollars each are awarded for fall sports, winter sports and spring sports. Fifty-eight scholarships are awarded for each category, 29 scholarships going to both men and women. The scholarships are one-time, nonrenewable grants.

Eligibility is restricted to student-athletes at NCAA member institutions who, in their final year of eligibility, have performed with distinction as members of varsity teams in the sport for which they were nominated. Nominees must have a minimum grade-point average of 3.200 (based on a 4.000 scale), be nominated by the faculty athletics representative or athletics director and intend to continue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree as a part-time or full-time graduate student.

Selections are made three times each academic year. Nomination forms are sent to faculty athletics representatives for fall sports in September, for winter sports in November and for spring sports in February. The application must be submitted during the correct seasonal category in relation to that sport. Candidates are screened byseven regional selection committees and winners are selected by the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Committee.

2003 Fall Sports

Men NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Awardees(29)

Baldwin, Todd (Augustana College (Illinois))
Barkley, Jacob (University of St. Thomas (Minnesota))
Battocchi, Keith (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Chiles, Kristopher (University of California, San Diego)
Crawford, Matthew (Univ. of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
Dyke, Daniel (Georgia Institute of Technology)
Eaton, Kyle (Oklahoma State University)
Ellis, Nick (Stanford University)
Giebink, Noel (Trinity University (Texas))
Graham, Taylor (Stanford University)
Hillenmeyer, Hunter (Vanderbilt University)
Hilliard, Andrew (University of St. Thomas (Minnesota))
Iorio, Joseph (Pennsylvania State University)
Johnson, Ryan (Montana State University-Bozeman)
Kasmer, Mark (University of Dayton)
Klinker, Luke (Nebraska Wesleyan University)
Klosterman, Kelby (University of North Dakota)
Kovar, Jeffrey (Loyola Marymount University)
Mason, Clifford (Gettysburg College)
Melillo, John (Washington and Lee University)
Rugema, Alfred (Abilene Christian University)
Rummery, Ryan (State University College at Oneonta)
Spector, Matthew (Quincy University)
Stinchcomb, Jonathan (University of Georgia)
Svoboda, Trevor (Nebraska Wesleyan University)
Tuck, Benjamin (University of the South)
Tuminello, Christopher (University of Toledo)
Vassilaros, David (Muhlenberg College)
Whitacre, Benjamin (Towson University)