Don't have an account? Click Here
Jackie Frank was selected as Stanford's Pac-10 Medal winner.
Jackie Frank was selected as Stanford's Pac-10 Medal winner.
Ryan Garko and Jackie Frank Named Pac-10 Conference Medal Winners

June 5, 2003

Walnut Creek, Calif. - The 2003 Pacific-10 Conference Medal winners were announced today by Commissioner Tom Hansen. A conference medal is awarded annually to each member institution's outstanding senior male and female student-athlete based on the exhibition of the greatest combination of performance and achievement in scholarship, athletics and leadership. Baseball's Ryan Garko and water polo's Jackie Frank were selected as the Cardinal's medal winners.

Stanford baseball is hosting Long Beach State this weekend in the NCAA Super Regional for a chance to advance to the Cardinal's fifth straight College World Series. Garko, the Pac-10 Player of the Year and NCAA Regional MVP, leads the team with a .418 batting average and 87 RBIs.

Frank helped the Cardinal to its third consecutive NCAA Championship game appearance this as Stanford finished second this season. Frank was named AWPCA Division I Player of the Year for the second straight year as she collected 194 saves her final campaign to bring her career total to 682 saves.

The Conference Medal winners will be honored at the State Farm Pride of the Pac-10 Luncheon held in Los Angeles in conjunction wit the Pac-10 Men's Basketball Tournament next March.

2002-03 Pacific-10 Conference Medal Winners
Arizona -- Jason Johnson (Football), Lovieann Jung (Softball)
Arizona St. -- Eric Larkin (Wrestling), Lisa Aguilera (Track & Field)
California -- John Paul Fruttero (Tennis), Brittany Kirk (Soccer)
Oregon -- Santiago Lorenzo (Track & Field), Andrea Vidlund (Softball)
Oregon St. -- Dennis Weathersby (Football), Elizabeth Jillson (Gymnastics)
Stanford -- Ryan Garko (Baseball), Jackie Frank (Water Polo)
UCLA -- Bryce Bohlander (Football), Onnie Willis (Gymnastics)
USC -- Erik Vendt (Swimming), Tracy Lindquist (Volleyball)
Washington -- Brad Walker (Track & Field), Paige Benjamin (Volleyball)
Washington St. -- Jason Gesser (Football), Ellannee Richardson (Track & Field)