Don't have an account? Click Here
2001 NCAA Women's Water Polo Championships

Stanford University To Host First-Ever
Women's Water Polo NCAA Championship

STANFORD, Calif. — Stanford University and the new Avery Aquatic Center will be the site of the first-ever Women’s Water Polo NCAA Championship this spring. The dates are set for Saturday, May 12 and Sunday, May 13, 2001. Four teams will compete in the inaugural event for the national championship.

Three teams will qualify by winning their respective conference championships. The fourth team will be chosen on an at-large basis. The three conferences are the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation, the Collegiate Water Polo Association and the Western Water Polo Association. The MPSF consists of 11 schools, all from the West, while the CWPA has 23 teams from the East and Midwest and the WWPA consists of 15 West Coast schools. The remaining team will be selected without geographical restrictions as the nation’s best team that does not win a berth as a conference champion.

There will be a total of four games over the weekend, with the semifinals on Saturday and the consolation and championship games on Sunday. On the first day, the top-seeded team will play the fourth seed and the second seed will play the third seed.

The event is expected to be a sellout as 2,500 fans will be a part of history. This will be the first major event to take place at the newly remodeled Avery Aquatic Center, the world’s finest outdoor aquatic facility. Tickets went on sale March 1 and will be sold only as a two-day pass until May 12. Tickets are good for both games on each day (total of four games) and are all general admission. The price is $20 for adults and $14 for students, children and seniors. Further ticket information can be obtained by calling:

In the past, the national champion was decided at the Collegiate Nationals, an event that included 16 teams. UCLA is the defending national champion.