Don't have an account? Click Here
David DeCastro One of Three Finalists for Outland Trophy
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 11/21/2011

Nov. 21, 2011

STANFORD, Calif. -- - Junior right guard David DeCastro has been named a finalist for the Outland Trophy, which is awarded to the best interior lineman in college football.

He is joined by Alabama offensive tackle Barrett Jones and Penn State defensive tackle Devon Still as this year's finalists for the 66th Outland Trophy.

DeCastro, a native of Bellevue, Wash., has been one of the anchors of Stanford's offensive line for the last three seasons, making 37 consecutive starts at his right guard position. This year's line has allowed the ninth fewest sacks in the nation while paving the way for a Cardinal running game to average 209.0 yards per game on the ground.

Stanford's offensive line has allowed just 22 sacks over the last three seasons with DeCastro in the lineup while aiding the running game to average 214.0 yards on the ground over the last 37 games.

The winner of the Outland Trophy, which will be decided by the FWAA All-America Committee, will be announced on the evening of Dec. 8 during "The Home Depot College Football Awards" at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. The show, hosted by Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit and Desmond Howard, airs from 9-11 p.m. ET on ESPN.

The Outland Trophy, which has been awarded annually by the FWAA since 1946, is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Pennsylvania at the turn of the century. The Outland Trophy is the third-oldest award in major college football behind the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award.

The official 2011 award presentation will be Jan. 12, 2012, in Omaha, Neb., at a banquet sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee. Minnesota's Bobby Bell, the 1962 Outland Trophy winner, will be presented with the current edition of the Outland Trophy at the event.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team.

The Outland Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official Web site,



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts