Don't have an account? Click Here
Stanford To Induct 2007 Hall Of Fame Class Friday Night
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 11/02/2007

Nov. 2, 2007

Stanford, Calif. - The Stanford Athletic Hall of Fame will formally induct its 2007 class on Friday night in a ceremony on the Stanford campus before honoring the group at halftime of the Stanford-Washington football game at Stanford Stadium this Saturday, November 3 (3:30 pm, PT).

The class, made up of four male and four female athletes, combined to win five NCAA team championships, as well as garner numerous individual accolades, during their careers on The Farm.

The inductees include: 1993 NCAA Men's Volleyball Player of the Year Canyon Ceman; Three-time All-American (1993-95) women's soccer star Jessica Fischer; three-time tennis All-American and 1990 NCAA singles champion Debbie Graham; quarterback John Paye, who threw 38 touchdown passes during his four-year career in the 1980s; swimmer Brian Retterer, a member of the 1992 and 1994 men's swimming and diving NCAA championship teams; 1997 NCAA Women's Basketball Player of the Year Kate Starbird; Jenny Thompson, a 19-time NCAA champion and the most decorated United States athlete in U.S. Olympic history; and Dr. Sebron "Ed" Tucker, who in 1950 became Stanford's first African-American scholar-athlete as a member of the men's basketball team.

"This class represents excellence both on an off the playing field, and we are extremely proud to be honoring them as Hall of Fame inductees," said Bob Bowlsby, the Jaquish & Kenninger Director of Athletics at Stanford. "From the most decorated female in U.S. Olympic history to the first African-American scholar-athlete at Stanford, this class spans many decades and includes great athletes from a variety of sports. They are all very deserving of induction in the Stanford Athletic Hall of Fame."

The inductees for the Class of 2007 are listed below:
Canyon Ceman - Men's Volleyball (1990-94)
Named the 1993 National Collegiate Player of the Year, the only Stanford player to garner the award ... One of only two Stanford men's volleyball players to be selected an All-American four times ... Earned Player of the Year and First-Team All-Mountain Pacific Sports Federation honors in 1993 ... A Second-Team All-Mountain Pacific Sports Federation selection in 1994 and Second-Team All-Western Intercollegiate Volleyball Association in 1992 ... Named Stanford's 1992 Block "S" Outstanding Male Junior.

Jessica Fischer - Women's Soccer (1992-95)
Three-time All-American including First-Team All-American as a junior and senior ... A four-time All-West Region selection ... Helped Stanford to an overall record of 67-10-5 during her four years ... Led the Cardinal to four consecutive trips to the NCAA playoffs, including its first Final Four appearance in 1993 ... Among the school's all-time leaders in goals, assists, games played, games started and points.

Debbie Graham - Women's Tennis (1989-91)
A three-time All-American and member of three NCAA team championships ... 1990 NCAA singles champion ... Earned Pac-10 All-Conference honors three times ... Pac-10 Player of the Year in 1990 ... Posted 73-2 mark all-time in singles career at Stanford, including a perfect 27-0 mark in 1989 and 25-0 in 1990 ... Ranked as high as No. 35 in professional singles rankings in 1992 ... Ranked No. 24 in 1994 doubles rankings.

John Paye - Football (1983-86)
Finished his career as the number two passer in school history behind John Elway with 7,669 yards ... Ended career fourth in Stanford history with 38 touchdown passes ... Starting quarterback on 1986 team that went 8-4 and played in the Gator Bowl (though injury kept him out of Gator Bowl) ... Four-year starting quarterback from 1983-86 ... Selected in the 10th round of the 1987 NFL Draft by the San Francisco 49ers ... Also a member of the Cardinal basketball team ... Earned three varsity letters from 1984-86.

Brian Retterer - Men's Swimming (1991-95)
A member of two NCAA championship teams (1992, '94) ... Won four NCAA individual championships ... Member of 15 different relay teams that were crowned NCAA champions ... 25-time NCAA All-American ... 1994 200 free relay team broke the NCAA and American record with a time of 1:16.93 ... 14-time Pac-10 champion ... 1995 Pac-10 Conference Swimmer of the Year ... Set school records in the 100 backstroke, 200 backstroke, 100 freestyle and 50 freestyle ... Ranks seventh all-time among Stanford's top point scorers at NCAAs.

Kate Starbird - Women's Basketball (1993-97)
1997 senior season capped banner career ... Won 1997 Naismith Award as college basketball Player of the Year ... A consensus First-Team All-America selection in 1997 ... 1997 Pac-10 Player of the Year and First-Team All-Conference performer ... Set Stanford single season scoring record in 1996-97 with 753 points, including 20.9 per game ... In four years, her Stanford teams posted an overall record of 118-14, advanced to the Final Four three times and went 68-4 in conference games ... First round draft pick by the Seattle Reign of the ABL.

Jenny Thompson - Women's Swimming (1992-95)
The most decorated female swimmer in U.S. Olympic history with eight gold, three silver and one bronze medal over three Olympic Games ... She won three golds in both 1996 and 2000, as well as two in 1992 ... A 19-time NCAA champion, 25-time Pac-10 champion and 26-time All-American ... 1995 Co-Pac-10 Swimmer of the Year ... Still holds individual school records set in 1992 in the 100 yard free (47.61) and 200 yard free (1:43.61) ... Has held nine American records and eight world records at one time ... Named the 2000 Women's Sports Foundation Sportswoman of the Year ... Won 26 U.S. national titles over a 14-year period (1989-2003).

Dr. Sebron "Ed" Tucker (deceased)- Men's Basketball (1950-52)
Stanford's first African-American scholar-athlete ... Led the team in scoring in both 1950-51 (16.5 points per game) and 1951-52 (15.3 points per game) ... Led the Pacific Coast Conference in scoring in 1951-52 ... He is one of only five Stanford players to lead the league in scoring, joining the great Hank Luisetti (1936-38), Russ Lawler (1953-54), Keith Jones (1983-84) and Casey Jacobson (2001-02) as conference scoring leaders ... Considered a pioneer in Stanford athletic history.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts