Don't have an account? Click Here
Stanford's 14 Pac-10 All-Academic Honorees Lead The Conference
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 11/12/2010

Nov. 12, 2010

Complete Pac-10 Release Get Acrobat Reader

Walnut Creek, Calif. - Stanford was honored with 14 Pac-10 All-Academic honorees as announced by commissioner Larry Scott. The total of 14 Stanford honorees were the most in the Pac-10, while four first team recipients were also the most in the conference.

To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall-grade-point average and be either a starter or significant contributor. A starter or significant contributor is defined as having played in at least half the games.

Named to the first team were seniors Bobby Warshaw and Dominique Yahyavi, along with junior Clayton Holz and sophomore Dersu Abolfathi. Warshaw, Yahyavi and Holz are all repeat winners, while Abolfathi earns the award for the first time.

Holz has the team's highest GPA of 3.82 while majoring in English. Yahyavi (3.76, computer science), Abolfathi (3.72, undeclared) and Warshaw (3.57, political science) also are among the highest academic achievers in the conference.

Being named to the second team were sophomores Eric Anderson and Jason Dodson along with redshirt junior Garrett Gunther. Gunther was also a second-team honoree last season. Anderson (3.47) and Dodson (3.60) are undeclared majors, while Gunther (3.39) is majoring in management science and engineering.

Recognized as honorable mention were seven Cardinal players. Taylor Amman, Hunter Gorskie, Adam Jahn, Daniel Leon, Adoni Levine, Tommy Ryan and Thiago Sa Freire were each named Pac-10 honorable mention All-Academic.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts