Don't have an account? Click Here
Michele Uhlfelder Earns Beth Allen Award.
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 06/18/2004

June 18, 2004

STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford head women's lacrosse coach Michele Uhlfelder has been honored with the Beth Allen Award, given annually by U.S. Lacrosse to a member of the U.S. Lacrosse Women's Division who participates in the National Championship Division A at the National Tournament. Uhlfelder is the first winner from the Pacific region and the only winner to represent the West during the history of the award.

"Receiving this award is very memorable for me," Uhlfelder said. "I was in the stands watching the high school game and talking with fellow coaches and it took me completely by surprise. Since I was in college I have watched VIPs in the lacrosse world win the Beth Allen award. It is a special vote of appreciation from my peers as well as an honor to be in the company of so many previous winners. Like most of the other winners, I'm sure, I would have loved to know Beth Allen."

The recipient of this award shall be "highly skilled, creative, and disciplined player who consistently make a positive contribution to the team effort. Such a player shall show awareness and understanding of the spirit of this unique game and exemplify character traits of loyalty and sportsmanship."

Candidates are nominated by the national Selection Committee and each of the teams competing in the National Championship Division A. The recipient is chosen by the United States coaches and the former recipients of the award.

Previous winners of the Beth Allen Award include Danielle Gallagher (U.S. Team 2003), Sarah Nelson (New England 2002), Erin Brown (South 2001), Cherie Greer (U.S. Team 2000), Bonnie Rosen (New England 1999) and Jessica Wilk (South 1998).



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts