Don't have an account? Click Here
Luck Included on Preseason Watch List for Manning Award
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 08/15/2011

Aug. 15, 2011

STANFORD, Calif. - Andrew Luck is one of 31 quarterbacks included on the preseason watch list for the Manning Award, which is sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

"College football is the greatest sport out there and it's always fun to take a look at all the quarterbacks in the country and speculate on who will be the best," Archie Manning said. "But even the process of narrowing it down to 31 guys was challenging and I have no doubt that plenty of other quarterbacks will jump into the picture as the season goes on. I'm looking forward to simply sitting back and enjoying another great season."

This year's Watch List includes players from all 11 FBS conferences. Conference USA, the Big 12 and the Pac-12 are each represented by five players while the Big East, the Big Ten and the Southeastern Conference each have three quarterbacks recognized.

"We have had the opportunity to recognize seven outstanding quarterbacks with the Manning Award," said Paul Hoolahan, Allstate Sugar Bowl CEO. "It is truly a great honor for the Allstate Sugar Bowl to sponsor this award and we wish the best of luck to every quarterback and team in the country for another great year of college football."

The preseason Watch List recognizes 31 of the top quarterbacks in the nation based on previous collegiate performance, however, every quarterback in the nation remains eligible for the honor. Additional quarterbacks may be added to the Watch List after the start of the season. The list of 10 finalists will be released on Monday, Nov. 28. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, Jan. 18.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its eighth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Last year saw Auburn's Cameron Newton earn the award, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers.

2011 Manning Award Watch List
Matt Barkley JR USC
Tyler Bray SO Tennessee
Alex Carder JR Western Michigan
Zach Collaros SR Cincinnati
Kirk Cousins SR Michigan State
Austin Davis SR Southern Miss
Dominique Davis SR East Carolina
Nick Foles JR Arizona
Robert Griffin JR Baylor
Chandler Harnish SR Northern Illinois
Landry Jones JR Oklahoma
Case Keenum SR Houston
G.J. Kinne JR Tulsa
Ryan Lindley SR San Diego State
Andrew Luck JR Stanford
Taylor Martinez SO Nebraska
Bryant Moniz SR Hawaii
Kellen Moore SR Boise State
Aaron Murray SO Georgia
Danny O'Brien SO Maryland
Kyle Padron JR SMU
Dan Persa SR Northwestern
Chris Relf SR Mississippi State
Corey Robinson SO Troy
Denard Robinson JR Michigan
Geno Smith JR West Virginia
Tino Sunseri JR Pittsburgh
Ryan Tannehill SR Texas A&M
Darren Thomas JR Oregon
Brandon Weeden SR Oklahoma State
Jordan Wynn JR Utah



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts