Don't have an account? Click Here
Leslie Foard Added To The Tewaaraton Award Watch List
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 03/24/2010

March 24, 2010

  • National Release Get Acrobat Reader

    Stanford, Calif. - Stanford junior Leslie Foard has been added to the Tewaaraton Watch List, the top honor given yearly to collegiate lacrosse players. Foard joins teammate Lauren Schmidt, who was included on the original list.

    Foard was one of three added to the women's list after the strong start to her season.

    "We welcome these additions to the Tewaaraton Award Watch List. The Selection Committees have worked diligently to identify the best lacrosse players in the nation," said Robert Sweeney, President of the Greater Washington Sports Alliance. "I can assure everyone that the Tewaaraton Awards Advisory Council, which consists of some of the top lacrosse enthusiasts in the Greater Washington area has also been working incredibly hard to make this year's 10th anniversary celebration the best awards ceremony to date."

    The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 and is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is given annually to the NCAA men's and women's lacrosse player of the year. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. This will be the 10th annual awards ceremony and is the "Year of the Seneca".

    Foard has totaled 11 goals and five assists in helping Stanford to a 5-2 record and a No. 9 national ranking. The ranking is the highest in school history for the Cardinal lacrosse program.

  • #gostanford


    Cardinal AXEcess

    Cardinal AXEcess
    The Cardinal Facts