Don't have an account? Click Here
Women's Lacrosse Tabbed Preseason MPSF Favorite
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 01/15/2010

Jan. 15, 2010

Stanford, Calif. - The five-time defending champion Stanford women's lacrosse team was selected as the preseason choice for a sixth consecutive title by the coaches of the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation on Friday. The Cardinal received 36 votes including six first place votes to repeat as conference champions.

Oregon was chosen as the conference runner-up, while California was picked third and Denver fourth. UC Davis, Saint Mary's and Fresno State rounded out the rest of the conference.

The Cardinal return 236 of its 264 goals scored from last year (89 percent). The team's top seven goal scorers return, including 30-goal scorers Sarah Flynn (36), Lauren Schmidt (35), Dana Lindsay (32) and Karen Nesbitt (30). Schmidt, now a redshirt junior, was the 2009 MPSF Player of the Year and team-scoring leader (57 points). Defensively, junior goalkeeper Annie Read returns after playing every minute last season and owning an 8.83 goals-against average.

Stanford opens the regular season on Friday, February 19, when they face LeMoyne in Syracuse, N.Y. The first home game will be a week later on Friday, February 26, when they face Northwestern at Laird Q. Cagan Stadium.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts