Don't have an account? Click Here
The Drive for Five
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 04/21/2009

Complete Release in PDF Format April 21, 2009

STANFORD, Calif. - The No. 14 Stanford women's lacrosse team aims for its fifth consecutive Mountain Pacific Sports Federation title when the Cardinal plays host to the MPSF Championship Tournament, Thursday-Sunday at Laird Q. Cagan Stadium. Stanford, having won the regular-season title with a 6-0 record, owns the No. 1 seed and earns a first-round bye. All seven MPSF teams will compete for the right to be crowned MPSF champion. The regular season only determines the seeding for this event.

On the Net
Live video streaming for every tournament game will be available on To find the webcast links, go to the women's lacrosse page and click on the Tournament Central tool bar. There, a link can be found next to each game on the tournament schedule. There will be no live stats available.

Tournament Central
For up-to-date scores and matchups go the MPSF Tournament Central page at The following is the specific Web address:

Championship Schedule
The following is the schedule for the sixth Mountain Pacific Sports Federation women's lacrosse championship tournament:

All games at Laird Q. Cagan Stadium (admission is free)
Thursday, April 23
MPSF Quarterfinals

No. 2 Oregon (11-4, 4-2) vs. No. 7 Fresno State (0-13, 0-6), 1 p.m.
No. 3 California (6-10, 4-2) vs. No. 6 Saint Mary's (3-12, 1-5), 3:30 p.m.
No. 4 Denver (10-6, 4-2) vs. No. 5 UC Davis (4-10, 2-4), 6 p.m.
No. 1 seed Stanford has quarterfinal bye

Friday, April 24
MPSF Semifinals

Oregon-Fresno State winner vs. California-Saint Mary's winner, 3:30 p.m.
Stanford (10-4, 6-0) vs. Denver-UC Davis winner, 6 p.m.

Sunday, April 26
MPSF Championship Final

Semifinal winners, 1 p.m.

Tough Road for Top Seeds
Over the five-year history of the MPSF tournament, No. 1 seeds have captured the title only once. The lone exception came in 2005 when Stanford held serve. That year, Stanford went 5-0 during the conference season, beat UC Davis in the semifinals, 14-6, and then California, 12-9, in the championship. The No. 1 seeds that failed to win the title are Stanford (2004) and Denver (2006, 2007, 2008). In all, No. 1 seeds have gone a combined 6-4 in the tournament, but have a 1-4 success rate in their title quests. The lowest seed to the win the event was Stanford, which was No. 3 in both 2007 and 2008.

The seeds for the 2008 tournament are: 1, Stanford; 2, Oregon; 3, California; 4, Denver; 5, UC Davis; 6, Saint Mary's; 7, Fresno State.

MPSF Teams in Tournament Play
Here are the records of each school in MPSF tournament play since the conference was created in 2004:

Stanford 11-1, California 5-4, Denver 4-5, Oregon 2-4, UC Davis 1-5, Saint Mary's 0-4, Fresno State 0-0.

Postseason Success
Stanford has had great success since becoming a varsity sport and entering NCAA Division I play in 1995, through years in three conferences: the Western Women's Lacrosse League (1995-2001), Mountain Pacific Lacrosse League (2002-2003) and Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (2004-present). Here are some facts that illustrate the Cardinal's success in conference postseason play:

• 11 conference titles in 14 years
• All-time postseason record (including 2006 NCAA game): 29-4
• Record in conference tournaments: 29-3
• Conference tournament record since 1998: 26-1
• Record in conference championship games: 11-1
• Record in MPSF tournament play: 11-1
• Record in MPSF championship games: 4-1
• Winning streak in MPSF tournament play: 10
• Last loss in MPSF tournament play: 2004
• Current conference winning streak (including regular season): 9
• Consecutive conference titles: 4

Possible Semifinal Opponent: Denver
Stanford and Denver have developed a strong postseason rivalry, having met in the MPSF championship the past three years. Stanford has won each, but not without a fight. Last year, Stanford held off Denver, 9-8. In 2007, the Cardinal won 12-11. In both, Denver was the top seed and Stanford emerged as the No. 3 seed. Despite a 17-10 loss to Stanford, Denver still seems formidable. The Pioneers were the coaches' preseason choice to win, and had a preseason Top 20 ranking.

Possible Semifinal Opponent: UC Davis
Going back to the 1990's as club teams and in their early varsity years, Stanford and UC Davis were rivals and regarded as the top teams in their conference. However, since 1997, Stanford has grabbed a 19-3 series lead over the Aggies. This year, Stanford won at Davis, 20-3, scoring 15 consecutive goals. The Cardinal is 6-0 against the Aggies in conference tournament play, with three of those victories coming in consecutive championships games of the Western Women's Lacrosse League (1998-2000).

MPSF Team Notes (by seeding)
Stanford (10-4) has outscored MPSF opponents by a combined 105-30. The Cardinal has outscored conference opponents by 12.5 goals per game, by an average score of 17-5. Stanford's balanced attack features 10 players with nine or more goals, led by
Sarah Flynn's 31. Goalie Annie Read has a 5.00 goals-against average in MPSF play.

Oregon (11-4) faced Stanford in the first game of the season, losing 17-5, but since has won respect and even a few votes in the national coaches' poll. The Ducks tied a school record for most conference victories (four), and have impressive wins over Denver (11-9) and Virginia Tech (15-10). Oregon got the No. 2 seed by virtue of its better aggregate goal margin in head-to-head play against Cal and Denver.

• Molly Everett scored a free-position shot in overtime to give California (6-10) a 13-12 victory over Oregon in the regular-season finale and boost itself to a No. 3 seed. The Golden Bears played a brutal schedule that included seven games against ranked teams, and all resulted in big losses.

• Karen Morton (44 goals, 10 assists) of Denver (10-6) is the conference scoring leader with 54 points. The Pioneers came closer to Stanford (17-10) than anyone else in the conference.

• Britt Farquharson has scored 30 goals in 10 games for UC Davis (4-10).

• P.J. Hainley has scored 42 goals for Saint Mary's (3-12).

• First-year program Fresno State (0-13) is looking for its first victory.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts