Don't have an account? Click Here
Luck Finishes Second in Heisman Trophy Balloting
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 12/11/2010

Dec. 11, 2010

NEW YORK, NY - Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck finished second to Auburn's Cam Newton in the balloting for the Heisman Memorial Trophy as the most outstanding player in college football.

Luck totaled 1,079 points, including 78 first place votes, but finished a distant second to Newton, who won the award with 2,263 points.

Newton becomes the third Auburn player to win the Heisman Trophy, following Pat Sullivan (1971) and Bo Jackson (1985).

Luck had the most second place (309) and third place votes (227) among the finalists, which included third place finisher LaMichael James of Oregon and Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore.

Stanford's Owen Marecic, the only player among FBS schools to start on both sides of the ball, finished 10th in the balloting, garnering three first place votes, one second place vote and five third place votes.

This year marks the second consecutive year Stanford has had a player finish second in the Heisman Trophy balloting, following Toby Gerhart in 2009.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts