Don't have an account? Click Here
Luck a Finalist for Manning Award
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 11/29/2010

Nov. 29, 2010

NEW ORLEANS – Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck is one of 10 finalists for the Manning Award, given to the top quarterback in the country. He is also a candidate for the Heisman Trophy, as well as for the O'Brien and Maxwell Awards.

The award, named in honor of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning, takes into account the regular season as well as the bowl season to determine its winner.

Among the winners, nine players represent 10-win programs, including 11-1 Stanford. The 10 players have combined to throw for over 28,000 yards and 257 touchdowns, while rushing for 5,847 yards and 70 combined rushing touchdowns.
Luck is among that diverse group of rushers, ranking second on the team with 438 net yards with three touchdowns, three times running for 50 or more yards.

Overall on the year, Luck has completed 245 of his 349 passes for 3,051 yards, while throwing for a single season record 28 touchdowns this season. The only Stanford quarterback to throw four touchdowns three times in a season, the touchdown mark broke John Elway and Steve Stenstrom's single season record (27) on Saturday.

His pass efficiency rating of 166.10 ranks seventh nationally and leads the Pac-10.

He has led Stanford to the most potent offense in school history, as the 38-0 shutout over Oregon State on Saturday broke the school-record for total points (484).

Stanford awaits word on its bowl game destination, ranking at No. 4 nationally in the BCS Standings and No. 5 in both national polls.

The complete list of finalists is below:
Andy Dalton, TCU
Colin Kaepernick, Nevada
Andrew Luck, Stanford
Ryan Mallett, Arkansas
Kellen Moore, Boise State
Cameron Newton, Auburn
Terrelle Pryor, Ohio State
Denard Robinson, Michigan
Darron Thomas, Oregon
Brandon Weeden, Oklahoma State

“What a year it’s been for quarterbacks in college football, “Archie Manning said. “We have seen so many outstanding performances all over the country. There are five or 10 more guys who could easily have been among our finalists, but we are very pleased by this group of 10 players. We’re very excited to follow these 10 young men through the bowl season and then decide which one is the best in the nation.”

The winner will be announced on Wednesday, Jan. 19.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts