Don't have an account? Click Here
Chase Beeler One of Six Finalists for Rimington Trophy
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 12/07/2010

Dec. 7, 2010

STANFORD, Calif. - Chase Beeler has been named one of six finalists for the Rimington Trophy, which honors the top center in college football.

Joining Beeler among the finalists are Arizona's Colin Baxter, Ohio State's Mike Brewster, TCU's Jake Kirkpatrick, Michigan's David Molk and Auburn's Ryan Pugh.

The winner of the Rimington Trophy is selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from four existing All-America teams, including the American Football Coaches Association, Walter Camp Foundation, Sporting News and Football Writers Association of America squads.

The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with the most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy committee.

The winner of the Rimington Trophy will be announced during the ESPNU/Home Depot College Football Awards show, broadcast live from Orlando, Florida on ESPN on Thursday, December 9, 2010.

The recipient will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, January 15, 2011.

Beeler, who anchors Stanford's offensive line that has helped pave the way for a young Stanford rushing attack to average 211.0 yards a game while allowing the second fewest sacks in the nation, was selected to the American Football Coaches Association All-America squad last week.

About the Rimington Trophy
The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2 million for its benefactor, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. The eleven-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $82.3 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit

About the NCFAA
The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts