Don't have an account? Click Here
Team Awards Given to Cardinal Football
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 12/08/2011

Dec. 8, 2011

STANFORD, Calif.-- Quarterback Andrew Luck was presented with the Irving S. Zeimer Memorial Award honoring the team’s most valuable player at the annual football awards banquet..

Luck has completed 261 of 373 passes (70.0) for 3,170 yards and 35 touchdowns this season. He leads the Pac-12 in passing efficiency (167.5) and under his guidance, the Cardinal is averaging 43.6 points a game, which ranks fifth nationally, and 480.9 yards a game in total offense. He has quarterbacked Stanford to a 23-2 record dating back to last season, as the Cardinal has spent a school-record 21 weeks ranked in the Top 10 of the Associated Press poll.

In the regular season finale against Notre Dame, Luck broke Stanford’s single season and career mark for touchdown passes, running his totals to 35 and 80, respectively. He also set a new career standard for total offense with 10,218 yards.

Luck also received the Tommy Vardell Award, given to the junior or senior who best epitomizes excellence in both academics and athletics.

Senior safety Michael Thomas was named the recipient of the Al Masters Award, honoring the player displaying the highest degree of leadership and respect of his teammates. Thomas, a three-year starter in Stanford’s secondary, co-captained the 2011 squad with Luck.

Chris Owusu was named the recipient of the Jim Reynolds Award, presented to the player whose courage on the field and devotion to the game are an inspiration to all. The senior from Thousand Oaks, Calif. ranks as Stanford’s second leading receiver this season with 35 catches, including two touchdowns.

Senior safety Delano Howell earned the Jack Huston Award, awarded to the player exemplifying aggressiveness, exceptional performance and unheralded efforts. Howell, a three-year starter in the secondary, earned first team All-Pac-12 honors despite missing three games with injury.

Alex Debniak and Max Bergen were named the recipients of the Phil Moffat Awards, presented to the two most outstanding special teams players. Bergen earned honorable mention all-conference honors for his special teams play while Debniak has been a constant force on special teams throughout his career.

Senior wide receiver Griff Whalen received the Team Technician Award for his positive attitude and consistent commitment to strength and conditioning. Whalen is a finalist for the Burlsworth Trophy, awarded to the top player in college football who began his career as a walk-on.

Junior David DeCastro, a finalist for the Outland Trophy, and fullback Ryan Hewitt, were the recipients of the Frank Rehm Award, presented to the outstanding lineman and back in the Big Game.

Jordan Pratt, Kevin Anderson and Andrew Stutz shared the Greg Piers Award, presented to the most outstanding special teams, offensive and defensive service team players.

Defensive end Ben Gardner, who earned second team all-conference honors this season, earned the Deswarte-Eller Award honoring the team’s most outstanding sophomore.

Ty Montgomery was presented with the Menlo-Atherton Trophy Award as the team’s most outstanding freshman.

Running back Stepfan Taylor, who compiled his second straight 1,000-yard season in 2011, was the recipient of the Gundelach Award as the team’s most outstanding junior.

Coby Fleener, who led the team in receiving touchdowns with 10 from his tight end position, was the recipient of The Outstanding Senior Award.

Special tribute was also made to Stanford’s senior class, who helped the Cardinal compile a four-year record of 36-15, including a 23-2 mark over the last two seasons.

The banquet was dedicated to Chester McGlockton, Stanford’s defensive assistant for the past two years, who passed away last week at the age of 42.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
Stanford Baseball vs. Oregon