Don't have an account? Click Here
Andrew Luck Named Finalist for Heisman Trophy
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 12/05/2011

Dec. 5, 2011

STANFORD, Calif. -- - Andrew Luck, who led Stanford to an 11-1 record this season and its second consecutive Bowl Championship Series bowl, has been named one of five finalists for the Heisman Trophy, which honors the nation's most outstanding college football player.

Luck, who finished second in last year's Heisman Trophy balloting behind Auburn's Cam Newton, joins Wisconsin's Montee Ball, Baylor's Robert Griffin III LSU's Tyrann Mathieu and Alabama's Trent Richardson as finalists for college football's top individual honor.

Luck and the other finalists will be on hand for the Heisman Trophy presentation on Saturday, Dec. 10 at the Best Buy Theater in New York City. The winner will be announced during a live televised special on ESPN beginning at 5:00 p.m. PT.

Luck's selection marks the third consecutive year a Stanford player has been included among the finalists for the Heisman Trophy, following Toby Gerhart's runner-up finish in 2009 and Luck's initial trip last year.

Luck, who was named the Pac-12's Offensive Player of the Year for a second straight season, has completed 261 of 373 passes (70.0) for 3,170 yards and 35 touchdowns this season. He leads the Pac-12 in passing efficiency (167.5) and under his guidance the Cardinal is averaging 43.6 points a game, which ranks fifth nationally, and 480.9 yards a game in total offense.

He has quarterbacked Stanford to a 23-2 record dating back to last season, as the Cardinal has spent a school-record 22 weeks ranked in the Top 10 of the Associated Press poll.

In the regular season finale against Notre Dame, Luck broke Stanford's single season and career mark for touchdown passes, running his totals to 35 and 80, respectively. He also set a new career standard for total offense with 10,218 yards.

Stanford is 31-6 (.838) in Luck's 37 career starts. His 31 wins as a starter ranks first among the school's all-time list of quarterbacks.

Jim Plunkett is the only Stanford player ever to win the Heisman Trophy since its inception in 1935. Plunkett won the 1970 Heisman after he guided Stanford to a 9-3 record, which included a victory over Ohio State in the Rose Bowl. He garnered 510 of a possible 1,059 first place votes cast.

Other Stanford players who have finished in the top 10 in the balloting for the Heisman Trophy include Frankie Albert (3rd; 1940), Norman Standlee (9th; 1940), Bill McColl (4th; 1951), Bobby Garrett (5th; 1953), Guy Benjamin (7th; 1977), Darrin Nelson (6th; 1981), John Elway (2nd; 1982), Glyn Milburn (9th; 1992), Toby Gerhart (2nd; 2009), Luck (2nd; 2010) and Owen Marecic (10th; 2010).



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts