Don't have an account? Click Here
Turley Named Strength & Conditioning Coach of the Year by Football Scoop
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 12/17/2011

Dec. 17, 2011

STANFORD, Calif. - FootballScoop is proud to announce that Shannon Turley is the 2011 FootballScoop Strength & Conditioning Coach of the Year presented by SpeedTracs.

Have you noticed the change in the way Stanford players look these days? Opposing coaches certainly have.

A Pac-12 coach who saw the change up close over the past few seasons recently told FootballScoop, "Over the last few seasons our entire staff has noticed the physical difference in how the Stanford guys look. This isn't the old Stanford football we're playing against these days. Remember a few years ago when they only won one game?"

He's right. In 2006 Stanford won 1 football game. Turley was brought in after that season. Since then, Stanford's win totals have grown to 4, 5, 8, 12 and 11 this season with 1 to play.

Head coach David Shaw credits Coach Turley for the improvement, "Shannon Turley has been one of the biggest reasons for our turnaround here at Stanford. Every year we've cut down muscular injuries, gotten stronger and been better at the end of games and at the end of the season...and that's all due to how we train."

Turley is in his fifth season at Stanford where he serves as the Sports Performance Coordinator. He previously served as Director of Athletic Performance at San Diego and as Assistant Director of Strength & Conditioning at Missouri prior to that.

The Stanford staff credits Turley's emphasis on the total body of work...physical performance enhancement, nutritional education & improvement and mental preparation. FootballScoop asked 20 strength & conditioning coaches from around the country one question, "If you could spend a week at one other coach's facility, where would you go?" "Stanford - Coach Turley" was answered more than any other program / coach.

The FootballScoop Coaches of the Year awards presented by SpeedTracs are the only set of awards that recognize the most outstanding position coaches in college football. The finalists (Turley, Kaz Kazadi - Baylor and Dave Lawson - Cincinnati) were selected based off of nominations by coaches, athletic directors, and athletic department personnel. A panel of coaches including previous recipients determined the winner.

Previous winners of the Strength & Conditioning Coach of the Year award are Don Sommer (TCU, 2008), Joey Batson (Clemson, 2009) and Kevin Yoxall (Auburn, 2010).

Courtesy of



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts