Don't have an account? Click Here
Jim Harbaugh Named Finalist for Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 11/23/2010

Nov. 23, 2010

STANFORD, Calif. - The Football Writers Association of America, in conjunction with the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl, has announced eight finalists for the 2010 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, a list which includes Stanford head coach Jim Harbaugh.

Harbaugh joins Bret Bielema of Wisconson, Auburn's Gene Chizik, Michigan State's Mark Dantonio, Oklahoma State's Mike Gundy, Oregon's Chip Kelly, TCU's Gary Patterson and Boise State's Chris Petersen as finalists for the prestigious award, which named in honor of the legendary Grambling head coach.

The winner, determined by a vote of the Football Writers Association of America, will be revealed on Dec. 6 at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City.

Harbaugh has guided Stanford to a 10-1 record this season, as the Cardinal have tied a school record for wins in a single-season, a feat which has been accomplished just three times previously (1926, '40 and '92).

Stanford, ranked seventh in this week's AP poll, has won six straight games since suffering its only loss of the season to top-ranked Oregon.

The FWAA coaching award is named after the late Robinson, a coaching legend at Grambling State University for 55 years. He has more Division I victories (408) than any other coach in the history of college football. The FWAA has presented a national coach of the year award since 1957 and named the award in Robinson's honor in 1997.

Robinson, who passed away on April 3, 2007, won 70.7 percent of his games during his illustrious career. Robinson's teams won or tied for 17 Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) championships after joining the league in 1959. His Tigers claimed nine Black College Football Championships during his career spent all at the same school.

The move to present this award in New York City is a natural. The Grambling Tigers, coached by Robinson from 1941-97, played numerous regular-season games at Yankee Stadium starting in the late 1960s and into the 1970s and then later at The Meadowlands in New Jersey.

Prior to this year, the Eddie Robinson Award had been announced and presented at the site of the Bowl Championship Series title game in early January for several years.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts