Don't have an account? Click Here
Luck Finishes as a Heisman Runner-Up
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 12/10/2011

Dec. 10, 2011

Photo Gallery

NEW YORK CITY-- Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck finished as the Heisman runner-up for the second consecutive year as the Cardinal program has produced the Heisman runner-up in each of the last three seasons.

Robert Griffin III of Baylor was the winner of the 2011 award and joined 23 former winners on stage at the Best Buy Theatre in Times Square on Saturday. Griffin finished with 1687 points and 405 first place votes, while Luck had 1407 points and 247 first place votes.

"Sure I'm disappointed -- I am a competitor. But at the same time, you can't take anything away from the season Robert (Griffin III) had. He was outstanding and very deserving of the award," said Luck. ""I'll get over it. I am excited to get back to work and prepare for the Fiesta Bowl.... To be back here (in New York) two years in a row, is a tremendous honor for myself and Stanford."

The rest of the five finalists were Trent Richardson from Alabama with 978 points (138 first place votes), Montee Ball from Wisconsin with 348 votes (22 first place) and LSU's Tyrann Mathieu with 327 points (34 first place).

Luck passed for a single-season record 35 touchdowns this season, with nine interceptions, completing 70 percent of his passes for the Fiesta Bowl-bound Cardinal. For the nation's top red zone offense, Luck competed 73 percent of his passes and had 28 touchdowns inside the red zone.

"He's a special kid," said ESPN's Lee Corso during the awards ceremony. "What is most impressive is his 26 TD's and no interceptions in the red zone. When the Cardinal needed him, he did it. He's a great player."

For Stanford, it is the 13th time the program has been a part of the voting, joining: Frankie Albert (3rd, 1940), Norman Standlee (9th, 1940), Bill McColl (4th, 1951), Bobby Garrett (5th, 1953), John Brodie (7th, 1956), Jim Plunkett (winner, 1970), Guy Benjamin (7th, 1977), Darrin Nelson (6th, 1981), John Elway (2nd, 1982), Glyn Milburn (9th, 1992), Toby Gerhart (2nd, 2009), and Luck (2nd, 2010 and 2011).

Plunkett remains the only winner from Stanford, in 1970. This is the first time in Heisman history that a program has produced three-straight Heisman runners-up in Gerhart in 2009 and Luck in 2010 and 2011.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts