Don't have an account? Click Here
Jordan Williamson Named Semifinalist for Lou Groza Trophy
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 11/02/2011

Nov. 2, 2011

STANFORD, Calif. -- - Stanford kicker Jordan Williamson is one of 20 semifinalists for the 2011 Lou Groze Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, presented by the Orange Bowl Committee.

A redshirt freshman, Williamson has made 11 of 12 of his field goal attempts this season, with a long of 45. He is 4-4 from 20-29 yards, 5-5 from 30-39 and 2-3 from 40-49 yards out.

Semi-finalists will be voted on by FBS Head Coaches and SIDs, along with national and regional football writers, past Groza winners and others who will select the three (3) finalists. These finalists will be honored at the 20th annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Awards Banquet on December 6 in West Palm Beach, Florida.

The presentation will be featured on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday December 8, 2011. The award is named in honor of one of the all-time great kickers in football history, Lou Groza. Groza played 21 seasons for the Cleveland Browns setting numerous franchise records, including most games played, most points scored, and an amazing 107 consecutive games in which he scored a point. Groza was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1974.

The Lou Groza Place-Kicker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,

The presentation of the Lou Groza Place-Kicker Award will be featured on The Home Depot College Football Awards live on Thursday, Dec. 8, at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN. The show, hosted by ESPN's Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit and Desmond Howard will feature the live presentation of nine player awards, along with the recipients of Disney's Spirit Award; The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award; and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team. Fans can visit the show's dedicated Web site to find the latest college football awards news, including show details, previous winners, fan voting, a photo gallery and video highlights.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts