Don't have an account? Click Here
Laura Shane Named Tewaaraton Trophy Semifinalist
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 04/18/2008

April 18, 2008

Two-time All-American goalkeeper Laura Shane was named as a semifinalist to the Tewaaraton Award as announced by the The Tewaaraton Award Foundation on Friday afternoon. Shane is a two-time IWLCA All-American and was also the only goalkeeper amongst the 18 semifinalists.

Shane is well on her way to another All-American season as she is second nationally in saves with 177, only behind Kari Morrison of Virginia Tech who has 185 saves. Shane is also second nationally with a .555 save percentage. Shane has recorded 17 saves four times this year, most recently in a loss to No. 3 Maryland. The two-time All-American has allowed just 9.66 goals per game and has played 881 minutes out of 900 in goal for the Cardinal on the year.

This is a fantastic honor for Laura for her contribution to the Stanford women's lacrosse program", said co-Head Coach Adam Norton. "It is great to see all her hard work and dedication to the game is being honored."

2008 Women's Nominees
Amber Falcone North Carolina
Ashby Kaestner Georgetown
Caitlin McKinney Notre Dame
Carolyn Davis Duke
Christy Finch Northwestern
Dana Dobbie Maryland
Hannah Nielsen Northwestern
Hilary Bowen Northwestern
Hillary Fratzke Towson
Holly McGarvie Princeton
Jillian Byers Notre Dame
Katie Rowan Syracuse
Kelly Kasper Maryland
Laura Shane Stanford
Mallory Poole C.W. Post
Meredith Frank Northwestern
Sarah Dalton Boston University
Sasha Cielak Vanderbilt



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts