Don't have an account? Click Here
Noyola, Taylor, Named Hermann Semifinalists
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 12/06/2011

Dec. 6, 2011

STANFORD, Calif. - Lindsay Taylor and Teresa Noyola, seniors who combined to lead Stanford to the national women's soccer championship on Sunday, have been named semifinalists for the Hermann Trophy, college soccer's highest honor.

The former youth club teammates are among 15 still in the running for the Missouri Athletic Club award. Three finalists will be announced on Friday and voted on by NCAA Division I head coaches.

The finalists will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis for the awards announcement on Jan. 6.

Noyola, an attacking midfielder, and Taylor, a forward, first played together with the Mountain View-Los Altos Mercury youth team and renewed their partnership at Stanford, leading the Cardinal to a 25-0-1 season and a combined four-year record of 95-4-4 while making four College Cup appearances, including three in the final.

Noyola, the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year, had 9 goals - none bigger than her 53rd-minute header to beat Duke 1-0 in the College Cup final - and 15 assists this season. Her season and career (60) assist totals placed her one away from Press' school records in each category.

Taylor, the Pac-12 Player of the Year, scored 20 goals and had 6 assists, becoming the third different Stanford player in as many years to reach the 20-goal standard. The others were Hermann Trophy winners Kelley O'Hara in 2009 and Christen Press in 2010. No school has had three consecutive Hermann Trophy winners since North Carolina won four in a row from 2001-04.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts