Don't have an account? Click Here
Andrew Luck Named Finalist for Davey O'Brien and Maxwell Awards
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 11/22/2010

Nov. 22, 2010

STANFORD, Calif. - Andrew Luck has been named one of three finalists along with Auburn's Cam Newton and Boise State's Kellen Moore for the 2010 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award and the Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Football Player of the Year.

The O'Brien National Selection Committee was asked to consider the following criteria when choosing the finalists: quarterback skills, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

Luck has completed 224-of-319 passes for 2,746 yards and 24 touchdowns this season in leading Stanford to a 10-1 overall record and a top-10 ranking in the Associated Press poll. His 24 touchdown passes this season are tied for third on the school's all-time single-season list, three shy of the record held by John Elway (1980) and Steve Stenstrom (1993).

Luck leads the Pac-10 and ranks eighth nationally in passing efficiency (162.97) and he also tops the conference in total offense per game (290.09).

He has been red-hot over his last six games, completing 131-of-171 (.766) of his passes for 1,487 yards and 11 touchdowns against USC, Washington, Washington State, Arizona, Arizona State and Cal. Stanford won each of those games, marking the program's longest winning streak since the 1991 season.

Luck also ranks as Stanford's second leading rusher with 445 yards on 49 attempts and three touchdowns this season. His rushing total is the highest single-season mark ever by a Stanford quarterback. Luck has three runs of over 50 yards to his credit this season, including a career-long 58-yard gain against California.

Stanford has posted a 18-5 record in Luck's 23 career starts over the last two seasons.

The winner of both awards will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 9th in a live telecast from Orlando, Fla.

Fans may now help determine which quarterback will win the coveted O'Brien Award by voting as often as once daily at Fan voting will close at noon (CST) on Dec. 5.

About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award.

The O'Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $800,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

National College Football Awards Association The O'Brien is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards.

The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts