Don't have an account? Click Here
Mason Named Broyles Award Finalist
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 11/28/2012

Nov. 28, 2012

STANFORD, Calif. - Associate Head Coach and Defensive Coordinator Derek Mason has been named one of five finalists for the Broyles Award, which annually honors the top assistant college football coach in America.

Mason has guided a 2012 Stanford defense that is not only one of the best in the nation, but also one of the best in school history. The Cardinal at the conclusion of the regular season ranks No. 1 in rushing defense (71.33), sacks (4.42) and tackles for loss (9.25). Stanford last week at UCLA broke the school single-season sacks record, now at 53 and counting.

Stanford has held eight of 12 opponents under 100 yards rushing this season. In a string of three consecutive games, Stanford recorded three of its top 10 single-game rushing defense performances in school history: No. 3 at Colorado (minus-21 yards), No. 4 vs. Washington State (minus-18) and t-No.9 at California (3). The Cardinal at Colorado also set a school record by allowing a total of 76 offensive yards.

Stanford owns the top scoring defense in the Pac-12 at 16.92 points per game, which ranks No. 11 in the nation. In 10 of its 12 games this season, the Cardinal has held its opponent to 20 or fewer points. That included a 14-point effort in the overtime win at top-ranked Oregon, who led the FBS with a 54.8 scoring average.

Four of Mason's defenders are ranked in the top 20 of the Pac-12 in tackles for loss, and Stanford players occupied three of 11 spots on the All-Pac-12 First Team Defense (OLB Trent Murphy, FS Ed Reynolds, OLB Chase Thomas). Reynolds has recorded five interceptions and run a school-record three back for touchdowns, and the Cardinal defense has scored in five different games.

The 2012 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 4 at 11:30 a.m. at the Peabody Hotel in Little Rock, Ark. The Broyles Award is presented by The Rotary Club of Little Rock.

The other four finalists are Mike Bobo, Offensive Coordinator, Georgia; Bob Diaco, Defensive Coordinator, Notre Dame; Kliff Kingsbury, Offensive Coordinator, Texas A&M; and Dan Quinn, Defensive Coordinator, Florida.

The Broyles Award was established in 1996 to honor legendary Arkansas Head Coach Frank Broyles. Coach Broyles had a track record of producing some of the most successful assistant coaches in college football history. Former Broyles assistant coaches who have become head coaches have gone on to win almost 15 percent of all Super Bowl titles plus five national collegiate championships, more than 40 conference titles and more than 2,000 games. More than 25 Broyles assistants went on to become head coaches at the college or professional level, including: Joe Gibbs, Hayden Fry, Raymond Berry, Jimmy Johnson, Johnny Majors, Jackie Sherrill and Barry Switzer.

The finalists are chosen by a 10-person panel represents 10 national championships, more than 2,000 victories, over 70 conference titles, 154 bowl game appearances and 13 national head coach of the year honors: former Arkansas Athletic Director and Coach Frank Broyles, former Georgia Coach Vince Dooley, former Washington Coach Don James, former Syracuse Coach Dick MacPherson, former Baylor Coach Grant Teaff, former Brigham Young Coach LaVell Edwards, former Iowa Coach Hayden Fry, former Oklahoma Coach Barry Switzer, former Tennessee and Pittsburgh Coach Johnny Majors, and former Florida State University Coach Bobby Bowden.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts