Don't have an account? Click Here
Ryan Whalen Named to Preseason Watch List for Biletnikoff Award
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 08/11/2010

Aug. 11, 2010

STANFORD, Calif. - Ryan Whalen has been named to the preseason watch list for the 2010 Biletnikoff Award, which is presented annually to the top receiver in college football.

Whalen has led Stanford in receiving each of the last two seasons. As a junior, he caught 57 passes for 926 yards and four touchdowns, averaging 16.2 yards per catch and 71.2 receiving yards per game. He enters his final campaign with 99 career receptions for 1,444 yards and five touchdowns.

The Biletnikoff Award, named for former Florida State and NFL Hall of Famer Fred Biletnikoff, is a member of the National College Football Awards Association. The recipient of the award will be announced live on ESPN on the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards on Thursday, December 9.

Whalen is the latest in an impressive list of Stanford players to be included on preseason watch lists for various awards, including Andrew Luck (Davey O'Brien Award, Walter Camp Foundation Player of the Year), Chase Beeler (Outland Trophy, Nagurski Trophy, Rotary Lombardi Award), Jonathan Martin (Rotary Lombardi), Thomas Keiser (Lott Trophy, Nagurski Trophy) and Chris Owusu (Walter Camp Foundation Player of the Year).



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts