Don't have an account? Click Here
Shaw Named Eddie Robinson Award Finalist
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 12/03/2012

Dec. 3, 2012

STANFORD, Calif. - Bradford M. Freeman Director of Football David Shaw was named today a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, as announced today by the Football Writers Association of America.

Balloting by the FWAA will be conducted today through Dec. 8. The winner will be announced Dec. 13 and officially presented with the award Jan. 6 in Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

Shaw has led the 11-2 Cardinal this season to its 13th all-time conference championship and first Pac-12 Championship, sending Stanford to the 99th Rose Bowl Game presented by VIZIO.

On the way to his second straight Pac-12 Coach of the Year honors, Shaw's Cardinal has defeated five ranked opponents - most this year in the FBS. Stanford has recorded regular season victories over the Associated Press' No. 1 and No. 2 teams in the nation for the first time in school history and the first time in the FBS since Miami in 2000. Stanford has played its best down the stretch, defeating four straight ranked teams in November to finish the regular season.

Under Shaw's leadership, Stanford has earned berths to three consecutive BCS bowl games and won 11 games three years in a row for the first time in school history. The Cardinal has also finished three straight years Top-10 in the BCS Standings, including No. 6 this year and No. 4 in both 2010 and 2011.

The other finalists for the Eddie Robinson Award are Gary Andersen (Utah State), Dave Doeren (Northern Illinois), Brian Kelly (Notre Dame), Urban Meyer (Ohio State), Will Muschamp (Florida), Bill O'Brien (Penn State), Bill Snyder (Kansas State) and Kevin Sumlin (Texas A&M).

The FWAA has honored a major college coach with its coach of the Year award since 1957. Robinson, a coaching legend at Grambling State University, has been the FWAA's coaching namesake for the past 15 years. He passed away on April 3, 2007.

Robinson won 70.7 percent of his games during his illustrious career. He is the second-winningest coach in Division I history (408).



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
Stanford Baseball vs. Oregon