Don't have an account? Click Here
Lauren Schmidt Named To Tewaaraton Watch List
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 03/09/2010

March 9, 2010

Washington, D.C. - Stanford redshirt junior Lauren Schmidt has been named to the 2010 preseason Tewaaraton watch list. The award is given by the Greater Washington Sports Alliance and is a list made up of the top lacrosse players across all three divisions of collegiate lacrosse. Watch list nominees are screened and selected by two Selection Committees. The Selection Committees are comprised of college coaches, one committee for the men and one committee for the women.

Schmidt led Stanford to a 14-4 record last season and was named MPSF Player of the Year. So far this year, Schmidt has tallied nine goals and five assists, leading the Stanford to a 4-2 record and a No. 10 national ranking.

"I am excited to announce this year's watch list," said Robert Sweeney, President of the Greater Washington Sports Alliance. "The committee has done an outstanding job at selecting the top contenders across the country. This year's list represents 35 institutions, over 13 conferences encompassing students from 14 states, Canada and Australia, so if this is any indication of what is to come, I believe we are in store for an electrifying and intense season ahead."

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 and is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is given annually to the NCAA men's and women's lacrosse player of the year. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. This will be the 10th annual awards ceremony and is the "Year of the Seneca".

"This is a great year for the Tewaaraton Award and I am thrilled that we have a Native American nominated to the watch list. Rooted in centuries of Native American tradition, lacrosse is one of the oldest team sports played in North America. It is humbling to know that the sport has grown to the popularity that it has through the years, beyond that of just the Iroquois Confederacy, and that young men and women throughout North America are carrying on this remarkable tradition," said Jeffrey Harvey, Chairman of The Tewaaraton Advisory Council.

The award will be presented on June 3rd, 2010 at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts