Don't have an account? Click Here
Four Cardinal Players Named to AP All-America Squad
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 12/14/2011

Dec. 14, 2011

STANFORD, Calif. - The Associated Press released its All-America teams on Wednesday and junior right guard David DeCastro has landed a spot on the first team, quarterback Andrew Luck and left tackle Jonathan Martin were named to the second team while tight end Coby Fleener earned third team honors.

A consensus All-American, DeCastro has also earned first team All-America honors from the Walter Camp Football Foundation, American Football Coaches Association, Football Writers Association of America, along with AP. He was also a finalist for the Outland Trophy honoring the nation's top interior lineman.

The junior from Bellevue, Wash., has been one of the anchors of Stanford's offensive line for the last three seasons, making 37 consecutive starts at his right guard position. This year's line has allowed the ninth fewest sacks in the nation while paving the way for a Cardinal running game to average 209.0 yards per game on the ground.

Stanford's offensive line has allowed just 22 sacks over the last three seasons with DeCastro in the lineup while aiding the running game to average 214.0 yards on the ground over the last 37 games.

He is joined on the offensive line by Kevin Zeitler, a senior guard from Wisconsin, along with tackles Barrett Jones of Alabama and Matt Kalil of USC.

Heisman Trophy recipient Robert Griffin III of Baylor was named AP's first team quarterback. He is joined in the backfield by fellow Heisman finalists Montee Bell of Wisconsin and Trent Richardson of Alabama.

Wide receivers Justin Blackmon of Oklahoma State and USC's Robert Woods were named to the first team, as was tight end Dwayne Allen of Clemson, who was also the recipient of the Mackey Award.

Lou Groza Award winner Randy Bullock of Texas A&M was named to the first team as a kicker, while Sammy Watkins of Clemson earned first team honors as an all-purpose player.

The first team defensive line is made up of ends Melvin Ingram of South Carolina and Whitney Mercilus of Illinois, along with tackles Devon Still of Penn State and Jerel Worthy of Michigan State.

Lombardi Award winner Luke Kuechly of Boston College, Dont'a Hightower of Alabama and Jarvis Jones of Georgia were named first team All-Americans at the linebacker position.

The first team All-SEC secondary consists of LSU cornerbacks Morris Claiborne and Tyrann Mathieu along with safeties Mark Barron of Alabama and Bacarri Rambo of Georgia.

LSU freshman Brad Wing earned first team honors as a punter.

Luck, who was the recipient of the Walter Camp Football Foundation's Player of the Year and Maxwell Awards as the nation's top player, was named to the second team.

Martin, a Walter Camp All-American and a finalist for the Lombardi Award, joins Luck on the second team.

Fleener, who led the team in touchdown receptions with 10, earned third team honors as a tight end.

Running back LaMichael James of Oregon (second team) and quarterback Matt Barkley of USC (third team) join DeCastro, Kalil, Woods, Luck, Martin and Fleener as Pac-12 players to earn AP All-America honors.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts